Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just tried these oven baked donuts and they are delicious! They are light, not heavy like cake donuts. I read the previous reviews and did use buttermilk and 2T of melted butter in place of shortening and regular milk. I have a donut pan that makes six donuts. I filled the cuts up 3/4, baked at 400 degrees for 8-9 minutes, no longer. Let them set for a few minutes before you take out of the pan. The next six donuts I added cocoa to the batter to make chocolate donuts! Delicious! I made the glaze as the recipe calls for and dipped the donuts in sprinkles. I will definitely make these donuts again and I recommend them to you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just finished making these Fluffy Cake Doughnuts with my 10 year old identical twin Granddaughters. They love to cook and I saw this online. We followed the chef "Jmyslin" instructions about using butter instead of shortening and butter milk instead of regular milk. I must also add that I have a Baby Cakes electric mini doughnut maker that I wasn't sure that I was happy with because everytime I used it the doughnuts were horrible. As it turns out these came out GREAT! Everyone including my Husband said they were really good. The amount of spice was just right, and we coated them with the butter and cinnamon sugar mixture. In the mini doughnut maker I got exactly 32 doughnuts, so it makes quite a bit. They were NOT rubbery, but came out fluffy, light and just like store bought cake doughnts inside. They are still soft after a few hours which is more than I can say for other recipes that hardened as soon as they cooled. I don't know why there were negative ratings on these, because they are good and very easy. I put the dough in a plastic bag and snipped a corner and put it into the wells of the mini doughnut maker that way. Was very easy, mess proof and they all came out uniform. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Dry, and the nutmeg and cinnamon was not a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great recipe for a kids' party! I also used 1 T of butter instead of shortening and "sour" milk instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved this! My friends and I made it in the morning at a sleepover! It's delious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is the recipe that came with the non-stick doughnut pan I ordered from Amazon. I made it last night exactly as written. The doughnuts were dense and flavorless. I tried one, gave one to someone else to try and I'm moving on to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VHanko
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Pretty darn good baked doughnuts! I used coconut oil instead of shortening and buttered the pan instead of sprayed. I used a mini-doughnut pan and yielded 40+ . Frosting was bad so I added 2 tbsp melted butter, some cinnamon, pinch of salt, and just over a tsp of maple syrup... it came out great! After dipping the doughnuts I put them in the fridge for a couple minutes to solidify the frosting. I would definitely make these again, they are a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VHanko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These are easy and delicious! I used the Babycakes Mini Donut Maker and they came out great! They're better right out of the maker/oven! Delicious with morning tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Gave this a 4 star because I had to adjust a couple things. I wanted only a plain doughnut so I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg. I dont have a doughnut pan so I used a muffin tin. I followed the recipe exactly except for the 2 spices I omitted. Filled the tins up 3/4 like it says. Only made about 10 though. However, after 10 minutes they weren't done. So, I added a couple more minutes on the timer at a time and checked. I think they baked for about 17 minutes in total. If they are springy and solid to the touch they are done. They didnt brown or anything so if they brown it was too long. After cooling, I made a chocolate glaze with 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 4 tb of cocoa powder, 3 tb of milk, and 2 ts of pure vanilla extract. Oh my God! They were so so good! Best ever with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I thought it was just "okay". Had kind of a spongy texture, which I wasn't fond of. And was a little too sweet for me. I guess it just wasn't the recipe I was looking for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States