Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Gave this a 4 star because I had to adjust a couple things. I wanted only a plain doughnut so I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg. I dont have a doughnut pan so I used a muffin tin. I followed the recipe exactly except for the 2 spices I omitted. Filled the tins up 3/4 like it says. Only made about 10 though. However, after 10 minutes they weren't done. So, I added a couple more minutes on the timer at a time and checked. I think they baked for about 17 minutes in total. If they are springy and solid to the touch they are done. They didnt brown or anything so if they brown it was too long. After cooling, I made a chocolate glaze with 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 4 tb of cocoa powder, 3 tb of milk, and 2 ts of pure vanilla extract. Oh my God! They were so so good! Best ever with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I thought it was just "okay". Had kind of a spongy texture, which I wasn't fond of. And was a little too sweet for me. I guess it just wasn't the recipe I was looking for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made these for breakfast this morning and they were yummy! I took the pastry chef's suggestions and used sour milk and butter and rolled in the cinnamon/sugar/brown sugar mixture. I don't have a donut pan so I just baked these in a regular sized muffin tin at 400 degrees and they were very tasty. I can see how baking in a donut pan or a mini muffin pan might be better since then you could coat the whole thing in the cinnamon/sugar mix. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I used "sour" milk and decided to omit the cinnamon and nutmeg after making one batch with and one without. Since I was making mini donuts, I followed others advice and baked at 400 for just 5 minutes. They will not look brown at all, but as long as they spring back when touched they are done. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made a small batch by adjusting servings. I had craved doughnuts. As I didn't own the proper pan, I used the muffin tin. My son said it tasted just like the commercial glazed ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My kids ate these up!! I followed Jmyslin's amendments and they turned out nice and perfect. My kids ask for donuts all the time but I hate buying the fried donuts for them, so they only get them on occasion. I felt good about making these for my 3 kids this morning. I made the white glaze icing with vanilla (I can't find my almond) and I also made a Chocolate glaze with 1/2 tsp of maple extract. Not sure if I will use maple again but it was good just not the chocolate I was looking for. Super Easy to make and quick to bake. I used a mini muffin pan and NOW I need a donut pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom272

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I sell home baked items at our local farmers market. These are much better than the fried doughnuts for that purpose because they can be made ahead (and even frozen before frosting). To avoid melting in the sun, I melt chocolate chips and drizzle on the doughnuts. I have one out as an example and keep the rest (packaged two at a time) in a cooler. They sell out almost every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is a winner! Whole family loved them. I have wanted to try making baked doughnuts with my doughnut pan and this recipe was so good. The doughnuts were moist and tasted perfect even without any topping. (although rolling them in cinnamon and sugar was soooo good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I took the advice of other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening and used melted butter and almond extract to toss them in before tossing in cinnamon sugar. Also, I used mini muffin trays and cooked at 400 for about 8 minutes. They were AMAZING. I'm going to try making them again but healthier, but they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made these as per the recipe...they were dry and not edible, even with the glaze...i would never recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowcat316

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States