Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Did not have a great consistency, felt rather dense and the taste was average. Used my special donut pans and was hoping for a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was my first donut baking experiment and I thought they were great! I will try using buttermilk next time. My husband loved them and the glaze was simple and the best part! We added pineapple juice to the glaze and it helped make the donut softer as I baked it a minute or so too long. We used a giant donut pan and mini muffin pans. Loved them both! So fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamKrason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I liked this a lot! Tastes more like cake than greasy doughnut. It was a refreshing change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Okay in a pinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
These are incredible! I took the advice of some here and used buttermilk instead of milk and melted butter instead of shortening. I love the way they come out! I put the dough in a gallon-sized plastic bag, cut a tiny corner off and piped them into my donut pan -- much easier to work with the dough that way, and they come out pretty and perfectly round. Instead of the glaze, I dipped them in melted butter and then in a cinnamon-sugar mix -- delish, and the finish gives the donuts a toasty color, like they were fried. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These weren't fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I just made these, and they turned out great! Per the suggestions of some, I used melted butter and buttermilk. I added all the liquids to all the dry ingredients and then blended with a light hand, as you would with muffins, to keep them light and textured. I used a recipe for Krispy Kreme glaze, and that's made a big difference. It's basically the same as this recipe's glaze with melted butter added AND I dipped them in the glaze the second they were out of the pan (or 2 minutes out of oven). That way the glaze gets absorbed into the donut, very lush. I'll be tweaking, but it's a wonderful basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
It's a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Toughness is caused by overbeating the batter. Solution: Put the flour in a separate bowl and put aside. In a different bowl mix everything but the flour. When you have a nice wet mixture, SLOWLY, gently, pour it into the flour and then GENTLY BLEND it into the flour. DON'T BEAT IT. Use gentle motions to mix it all together. Flour is usually sifted or comes pre-sifted in order to have extra air put into it to cause it to rise light and fluffy. If you add everything immediately to the flour, you will need to beat it pretty hard in order to incorporate those whole eggs, etc., into the flour. If you beat hard, you are eliminating any extra air in the flour and that's why the donuts become tough. The best motion is less motion. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States