Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were slightly more dense than I was hoping for, but making the changes described in other posts (buttermilk instead of milk, butter instead of shortening. I cooked at 400 degrees for 9 minutes. Really tasty with a cinnamon sugar coating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The recipe was not very good -- doughnuts were rubbery and tasted bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just made these in my donut hole maker. Used buttermilk, and butter instead of milk and shortening. Rolled some in butter and cinnamon and sugar like suggested in one of the reviews. AWESOME. Easy, good, gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Not really like a doughnut at all. Not very sweet, and had a bread like texture. Kind of like big less sweet pancakes. They don't taste bad, but they're definitely not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
ehhh....not sure what to say about these. i don't think the cinnamon and nutmeg in the donut went well with the recommended glaze...seems like it would go well with either a chocolate glaze or by dipping the donuts in butter and then cinnamon sugar. the texture was pretty disappointing, too. i knew without frying them they weren't going to taste like dunkin' donuts, but these were pretty darn disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My family is going to LOVE me when they get home today! These turned out great! Followed the recipe as is, except that I baked them at 400 for 10 min. Now I am going to try making some substitutions to make them safe for my gluten/dairy free girlie and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I didnt use shortening, instead I did 2TBSP of melted butter. I thought these tasted like muffins and lacked the right texture/ taste of a classic cake doughnut. Over all this doughnut was just OK for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Had the texture of rubber sponges and too much nutmeg flavor. Im glad i scaled the recipe down so didnt waste too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
i didn't care for this recipe. It was simple, but there was no real flavor to it. I think I'll look for another baked doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I am very pleased with this recipe. I baked them in my new donut maker and they baked up so fast! I halved the recipe to test out my donut maker and I was able to make 9 donuts. They are fluffy and flavorful! Will be using this recipe. didn't have nutmeg, but tasted great. ***UPDATE: I made half of the recipe again and used half white whole wheat flour and a scoop of flax seed. Brown sugar instead of white. I also, added 1/4 cup of fat free sour cream and used buttermilk instead of milk. They came out so much better and taste great! Oh, they are addicting. I was able to make 13 donuts in my donut maker from half the recipe. I used 1 heaping TBL of mix in each donut cavity. Yummy! I already ate 3 of them... :) --- Chocolate glaze: 1/2 cup semi-sweet choc chips, 2 teaspoons butter or shortening, and 1 teaspoon corn syup. melt in microwave 30 sec and stir til smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States