Fluffy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
At first I saw some complaints about the frosting being runny...afterwards, I noticed that those who had problems w/ the frosting were "newbies" - key point and that's simply you need to make sure that your utensils and bowls are thoroughly clean and grease free -in otherwords don't use a plastic mixing bowl! Remember this recipe uses an egg white and it will not set up properly if your utensils/mixing bowl has any trace of grease/fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Well, I'm certainly no "newbie," but I did have trouble with this frosting setting up. I had to make a number of corrections, including adding meringue powder, to make it right. I do have a favorite, no-fail buttercream with egg whites that works beautifully every time, so I guess I'll stick with what works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by klzee
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used almond extract instead of vanilla, I sifted the powdered sugar and I omitted the water because I didn't need it. I beat it on high for about 5 minutes using the whisk attachment on my mixer. I found that the egg white gave it a nice fluffy texture without compromising the buttercream taste. It came out fantastic! I will definitely make this again!! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful and easy buttercream frosting recipe. The longer you beat it the fluffier it will be. It sets up nicely when refrigerated, it would be perfect to use for decorating cakes after it has been refrigerated for a short while. I increased the vanilla to 1 tsp, and omitted adding any water. As with most frostings, it is rich but very delicious. Double the recipe for a full size cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm not sure I would call this a buttercream at all considering the tiny amount of butter. It's quite sweet also, toothache sweet. And am I the only one here who has problems with uncooked egg whites? I did try it since I had access to local eggs, but I won't be trying it again. It's just not good enough to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was the worst frosting ever. It wasn't fluffy, it was creamy and runny. I let it mix on high forever, and nothing happened. It's not thick enough at all. I think I may have to add some flour and see if that will save it. I guess I'll stick to my regular buttercream frosting I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
It was rather good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great icing, very easy to make! Followed directions exactly and it set up perfectly. I made the icing in my Kitchenaid stand mixer with whisk attachment. I think making it in a metal or glass bowl instead of plastic probably makes a lot of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather9091

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
this came out more like an icing than a frosting didn't seem to set very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This turned out very well for me. I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar, though. I kept an eye on it for the whole 10 min and added a few drops of water or a few spoons of sugar when the texture looked funny. It turned out fluffy and GREAT. Goes really well with Vegan Chocolate Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States