Fluffy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Just had my son and husband devour the cupcakes right after frosting with this recipe and it was a hit! It didn't get as fluffy as it seemed advertised but it didn't matter to us one bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful and easy buttercream frosting recipe. The longer you beat it the fluffier it will be. It sets up nicely when refrigerated, it would be perfect to use for decorating cakes after it has been refrigerated for a short while. I increased the vanilla to 1 tsp, and omitted adding any water. As with most frostings, it is rich but very delicious. Double the recipe for a full size cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Tasted great and was super easy to make. I didn't really even read the reviews until after I made the frosting. I was searching for something quick. This frosting was perfect. Not too sweet and just fluffy enough. I also liked the size of the recipe. This was a good amount for cupcakes - I didn't end up with tons of leftover frosting like other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
At first I saw some complaints about the frosting being runny...afterwards, I noticed that those who had problems w/ the frosting were "newbies" - key point and that's simply you need to make sure that your utensils and bowls are thoroughly clean and grease free -in otherwords don't use a plastic mixing bowl! Remember this recipe uses an egg white and it will not set up properly if your utensils/mixing bowl has any trace of grease/fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Great recipe! Really good tasting and easy to make. You really have to mix it for the 5 min. I did not add the water and it was moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I only had a bit of butter and needed a quick frosting for cupcakes. This one was great and yielding just enough for a dozen large cupcakes. It turned out exactly as promised. I too used the whisk attachment and left it on high speed for ten minutes, no issues. I did use almond extract instead of the vanilla, will likely use the vanilla next time just to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I found this icing very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castleton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Initially, I thought the frosting was too thick, and I added more water. That was my mistake because it got too thin, and not so fluffy. If you are looking for something more creamy and light, this isn't it. If you like a thick sugar cookie icing, then this will be for you. Overall I gave it 4 stars because the sugar cookie icing effect was great with the brownie cupcake. Just the right mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great frosting! Tastes great and it's not too sweet. It didn't yield very much so pay attn to serving size. Didn't hold the shape too well when piping, but great as a frosting on cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klzee
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used almond extract instead of vanilla, I sifted the powdered sugar and I omitted the water because I didn't need it. I beat it on high for about 5 minutes using the whisk attachment on my mixer. I found that the egg white gave it a nice fluffy texture without compromising the buttercream taste. It came out fantastic! I will definitely make this again!! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States