Fluffy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This didn't turn out well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bristow Lehto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I followed the instructions exactly, even taking others advice on making sure everything was perfectly clean, but the frosting was still runny. I had to refrigerate the cake to keep the frosting from melting off. It tasted fine, but I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I liked this frosting - I used meringue powder instead of an egg white. It whipped up fine with a nice consistency. It wasn't SUPER fluffy but it was perfect for frosting cupcakes. I don't generally like overly sweet frosting - I thought the fluffiness cut the sweetness back nicely. Another reviewer mentioned making sure there is no grease on your bowl - doesn't really applys since you are adding BUTTER into the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great icing, very easy to make! Followed directions exactly and it set up perfectly. I made the icing in my Kitchenaid stand mixer with whisk attachment. I think making it in a metal or glass bowl instead of plastic probably makes a lot of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather9091

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
very good will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My recipe did turn out in regards to consistency, I could taste the fresh raw egg white through, and decided to add cocoa powder to remedy this. In the end I was far too concerned to use this icing for preschoolers cupcakes due to the raw egg. I looked up food safety information from egg producers and they highly recommend that individuals do not eat raw egg products due to salmonella. Therefore I cannot give this recipe any more then a one. I would be interested to see an adapted recipe posted with dried pasteurized egg white from the person who made the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
It didn't really work for me either! At least not for what I wanted. It wasn't a bad frosting, just not fluffy or stiff enough. I did add a little extra butter as was recommeded by another poster, but I added some extra powdered sugar to compensate. I whipped it for almost 10 minutes and thought it looked OK, but when I started to put it in the icing bag, I knew I was in for trouble! Because of timing, I went ahead and used it on the cupcakes I had planned to use it on, but the pipping tip marks dissapeared as soon as I got done pipping the frosting on (just a basic big circle around the cupcake with a little poof for the top) and the poof I added to the top feel and melted into the frosting right away. Luckily the frosting wasn't so loose that it was dripping off the cupcakes- but it wasn't far from it. *side note- it is almost 80 degrees today, so that may not have helped (no a/c at our house- usually don't need it). I put the cupcakes in the fridge to see if the frosting would get a little firmer and it did, but I'm sure as soon as the warm up again it will be too runny. Oh well! They taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
WOW! I finally found a great recipe for buttercream frosting! I did make a few adjustments to suit my taste. I used a whole stick of butter and a 1/4 cup of cocoa. This is perfect for the birthday cake I am making and it is the perfect texture for decorating. It just doesn't even taste like I made it from scratch. Usually my frosting tastes like sugar, or it's too runny or it's too sweet. It's perfect! Thank you for posting this recipe! My family loves you for it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamp062400

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This frosting was good, but needed about 1/3 less confectionary sugar and 1/4 cup more butter. Also, substitute milk for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'm not sure I would call this a buttercream at all considering the tiny amount of butter. It's quite sweet also, toothache sweet. And am I the only one here who has problems with uncooked egg whites? I did try it since I had access to local eggs, but I won't be trying it again. It's just not good enough to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States