Fluffy Boiled Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I don't know what i did wrong, but the icing came out terrible. It had the consistency of melted marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this recipe tonight for my son's birthday cupcakes. Cons: I do think the recipe's directions need some clarification. 238 is soft-ball stage and is too hot; I ruined the first batch by following this. I believe maybe they meant to say the icing forms a soft thread in cold water, which is thread stage,about 10 degrees cooler. Also, fyi, this is not a decorating icing; it's a marshmallow-style icing. Pros: I really like the flavor of this icing, and for a marshmallow style icing it has a nice consistency. Making it into chocolate with melted chips is wonderful. Hints: Chill bowl and beater before beating egg whites. This cuts down immensely on time apparently 'cause it didn't take me long at all 'til it was done. Beat 'til knife makes a clean path in the icing. Also, if you're going to make it into chocolate icing, try melting about 1/3 c. chips and adding with the syrup or maybe putting them in the syrup after removed from heat; they'll melt fast. Add later and it will ruin the structure (as I did; oops :), tho the flavor will still be excellent and consistency still spreadable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was awesome!! Remember having it as a child! I did add the 1/8 tsp. of cream of tartar and just a pinch of salt, used the candy thermometer to get up to 242 degrees and it was perfect, didn't have to add any powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
my version is, 3 egg whites instead of 2 and 1/2 Tbsp corn syrup, pinch of cream of tartar instead of salt. i don't add extra confectioner's or icing sugar anymore since this will make the icing hard. i just make sure that the egg whites are at room temperature, my bowl is free from grease and dry. i sometimes omit the corn syrup but i make sure that the sugar syrup is really cooked right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I have this recipe from my grandmother (I am 69) I use to make this all of the time and use on angel food birthday cakes! Wonderful to see people using it now, brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Love this icing and have made it for years. One trick I have found is to cook the icing (continually beating it over the heat until the icing can be cut with a knife and retains a clean cut. If the icing runs back together it has not been cooked long enough. Cook until you can obtain this test. All boiled icings require longer cooking on damp, heavy days than they do on dry days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I've used this recipe since 1950. I added a little cream of tarter to hold it's shape in case the cake lasted more than a day or two. Usually cakes were eaten before evenings end. We liked it on Dark chocolate cake and sometimes flavored it with peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Loved the frosting and its ease to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I may be an average cook but I am a fantastic baker. This icing was gross. It tasted like cheap trashy grocery store icing. I'm sorry but I would not even serve it to my dogs. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States