Fluffy Boiled Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I've made this twice now and it turned out great. I do use a candy thermometer though and clear vanilla extract. I Love how white this frosting is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Making this icing was a disaster. I made it as part of the flag cake and the 1st round, the vanilla made it look very brown (so don't use too much vanilla). The 2nd round, I beat and beat and beat the darn thing, but it ended up like melted whip cream. I put it on the cake anyways and it was "ok." Everyone loved the actual flag, but this icing really ticked me off. At least my mom got a good laugh out of it! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Followed the instructions exactly except I used cherry juice instead of water. It turned out perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe - just like Grandma's! I was a little worried I wouldn't know what the "spin a long thread when a little is dropped from a spoon" part looked like but it was pretty obvious once it happened. I kept some cupcakes covered on the counter and the icing did harden a little the next day; the others I kept in the fridge and the icing was still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is a really great icing recipe. I used it to make a flag cake and made all of the recommendations on the All Recipes article. Although this recipe did need your full attention at all times, it was delicious, easy to spread, and looked fantastic. Thank you for the great recipe- I will for sure be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
After making this recipie the icing hardened right away and became to crusty and stiff to use. I do have a feeling that the sugar may have boiled a little too long. It tastes good, though; but, I can't spread it on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
This was exactly the recipe that I was looking for! I love this icing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was a great recipe! The icing was heavenly, though it did require undivided attention while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lanett, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This recipe will not hold its shape as it was represented for outside activities. It sort of melt. It dried out in places that was thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
I tried this and replaced cherry juice for the water and it came out wonderful and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States