Fluffy Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a great cake - I couldn't be more pleased. BUT...I did't make it exactly to specifications. I used butter rather than shortening, tho' because I'm familiar with cakes made with both I know I would not have been disappointed had I prepared the cake with shortening. I used one more banana and just a tad more buttermilk than called for. I wanted banana cake, not banana bread, so I figured these two adjustments would help achieve that. I mixed this up a little differently than the recipe instructs. I creamed the butter and sugar VERY well, then added the eggs and vanilla, beating well after each. Then I blended in the mashed bananas. I added the dry ingredients alternately in thirds with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Most important in my mind was that I used 8" rather than 9" layer cake pans which turned out a perfectly sized cake - baked about 30 minutes. I'm not sure I would have been as happy with the "shorter" cake that would have resulted from the 9" pans. I chose to frost it with a chocolate buttercream frosting and garnished it with crushed Milano cookies. I had no issues with it being a dense cake at all and was quite happy with it's light, moist crumb. The ripeness of the bananas I used was reflected in how pleasantly flavorful and sweet the cake was. This is just a good old-fashioned banana layer cake I wouldn't hesitate to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good, not great - of the 17 I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this exactly to recipe. Good taste but WOW, it is so NOT fluffy! I built a layer cake with 2 different rectanglar pans so it looked like a Mayan ruin and my 19-year old son said, "And it even has the texture of stone."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The cake that emerges from this thick, viscous batter is surprisingly light and mouthwatering. My only change was to put the bananas into a food processor for a bit to smooth the batter out. I wanted something that I could create a chocolate covered banana cupcake with and this is the perfect base! I would recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Just made this tonight. Yum yum yummy. I followed the recipe to the "T". Added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and didn't frost it. Baked it in a 13x9 glass pan for 31 minutes. My husband loved it. He was the one that made me search for a light and fluffy banana bread - this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Was looking for a banana cake recipe that wasn't dense. This was it!! Very light and moist. I added a few semi-sweet choc chips and reduced the sugar to 2 cups. Honestly I think I should have used 2 1/2 c. of sugar. But the choc buttercream icing added enough sweetness. I doubled the recipe and actually made 3 9" rounds. I only needed 2 so my family ate the other 9" round for a snack. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The only problem with this recipie is that I can't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
VERY yummy! It's the fluffiest banana bread/cake I've been able to make - most of mine are very dense. This isn't as light as, say, a boxed cake, but for a "from scratch" recipe, it's quite light. (I made it per directions except added 1 more banana and used a 9x13 pan. Also just plopped whipped cream on top instead of frosting with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I love this cake. It has great texture and taste. I substituted butter for the shortening, and decreased the sugar to 1 cup. It turned out perfect. Very light and fluffy as the name implies, with a wonderful banana taste. This one is a keeper. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was wonderful! Light and fluffy, and full of flavor! Not sure what the problem was with the others that thought it was dense. I didn't change a thing, made it exactly the way the recipe said to. Delicious. I made two heart shaped cakes, and I will be sending one with my daughter to school for her class party tomorrow. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States