Fluffy Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a great cake - I couldn't be more pleased. BUT...I did't make it exactly to specifications. I used butter rather than shortening, tho' because I'm familiar with cakes made with both I know I would not have been disappointed had I prepared the cake with shortening. I used one more banana and just a tad more buttermilk than called for. I wanted banana cake, not banana bread, so I figured these two adjustments would help achieve that. I mixed this up a little differently than the recipe instructs. I creamed the butter and sugar VERY well, then added the eggs and vanilla, beating well after each. Then I blended in the mashed bananas. I added the dry ingredients alternately in thirds with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Most important in my mind was that I used 8" rather than 9" layer cake pans which turned out a perfectly sized cake - baked about 30 minutes. I'm not sure I would have been as happy with the "shorter" cake that would have resulted from the 9" pans. I chose to frost it with a chocolate buttercream frosting and garnished it with crushed Milano cookies. I had no issues with it being a dense cake at all and was quite happy with it's light, moist crumb. The ripeness of the bananas I used was reflected in how pleasantly flavorful and sweet the cake was. This is just a good old-fashioned banana layer cake I wouldn't hesitate to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good, not great - of the 17 I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this exactly to recipe. Good taste but WOW, it is so NOT fluffy! I built a layer cake with 2 different rectanglar pans so it looked like a Mayan ruin and my 19-year old son said, "And it even has the texture of stone."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The cake that emerges from this thick, viscous batter is surprisingly light and mouthwatering. My only change was to put the bananas into a food processor for a bit to smooth the batter out. I wanted something that I could create a chocolate covered banana cupcake with and this is the perfect base! I would recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Just made this tonight. Yum yum yummy. I followed the recipe to the "T". Added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and didn't frost it. Baked it in a 13x9 glass pan for 31 minutes. My husband loved it. He was the one that made me search for a light and fluffy banana bread - this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Was looking for a banana cake recipe that wasn't dense. This was it!! Very light and moist. I added a few semi-sweet choc chips and reduced the sugar to 2 cups. Honestly I think I should have used 2 1/2 c. of sugar. But the choc buttercream icing added enough sweetness. I doubled the recipe and actually made 3 9" rounds. I only needed 2 so my family ate the other 9" round for a snack. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The only problem with this recipie is that I can't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
VERY yummy! It's the fluffiest banana bread/cake I've been able to make - most of mine are very dense. This isn't as light as, say, a boxed cake, but for a "from scratch" recipe, it's quite light. (I made it per directions except added 1 more banana and used a 9x13 pan. Also just plopped whipped cream on top instead of frosting with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I love this cake. It has great texture and taste. I substituted butter for the shortening, and decreased the sugar to 1 cup. It turned out perfect. Very light and fluffy as the name implies, with a wonderful banana taste. This one is a keeper. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was wonderful! Light and fluffy, and full of flavor! Not sure what the problem was with the others that thought it was dense. I didn't change a thing, made it exactly the way the recipe said to. Delicious. I made two heart shaped cakes, and I will be sending one with my daughter to school for her class party tomorrow. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States