Fluffy Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
this was a very yummy cake. i added an extra banana and substituted butter for the shortening. i also substituted condensed milk for the buttermilk, and it came out sweet and fluffy. and the outer bit was crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powpow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This cake is SOO good. I can't even believe how much flavor 2 bananas gave it. It was too sweet so I will only use 3/4 cup of sugar next time. Beware! The buttermilk will curdle the batter upon adding it! This is normal! I threw it out and tried it again the next day with a new carton, and then realized it was fine the first time. This cake is fluffy as it claims, and has a really delicious crust. I also used butter instead of shortening and will do the same next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
wonderful flavor and texture. The title of this recipe speaks true. I replaced shortening with butter, and added 1 1/4 cup mashed banana that I had in the freezer. Made in a 9x13 pan and baked in my oven for 45 minutes. I made a 'review' mini muffin and this is outstanding. Light and airy but yet rich tasting w/the butter substitution. Made 'WHIPPED CREAM CREAM CHEESE FROSTING' recipe from this site (by Tom) and if you have never tried this frosting, it is a must. It is so addictive and is the perfect compliment to this cake, as the frosting is very light and whippy and not sickening sweet. Made a day ahead for a treat to the co-workers tomorrow. Thanks for this lovely and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Heavenly! Fluffy as a cloud. I, too, added an extra banana for a bit of flavor -- came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I added and extra banana because I wanted a really nice strong banana flavour. Iced it with Chocolate Cream icing. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I lost my recipe for this cake and found one for it here- BOY was I GLAD! When I make it I use cream cheese frosting to ice it. It is the best and a cake I usually have all the ingredients for. Everyone I have ever made it for loves it! I make it in a JellyRoll pan - it goes farther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Made this cake for resturant and the part owner said it was the best cake he had tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I have made a few changes to this recipe when I made it. I did not have shortening so I added butter instead. I also used 1/2c of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States