Fluffy Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I agree with GodivaGirl on this one...it was very dense and not fluffy at all. I did double the recipe, and maybe could have used even more buttermilk than the recipe called for to make it more fluffy, but I was really hoping for a light, banana flavor. Maybe next time just a white cake with banana flavoring will be what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great cake! I used a whole tsp of bkg soda as mine was a little old and questionable. I layered the cake with sliced bananas and whipped cream and frosted the outside with cinnamon whip cream and sprinkled it with mini chocolate chips. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the cake as well. The 4 boys and hubby scarfed it down. A nice change from chocolate cake all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This cake was NOT fluffy or cake like. This tastes exactly like dense banana bread. I followed the basic directions except subbed real butter for the shortening and cut back on the white sugar slightly. After reading reviewers problems with sticking I decided to try muffins. I got 12 nice sized muffins (used liners) cooked in 18 minutes. This does have a light banana flavor. I used the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting recipe by Tom (which was fantastic). I will continue to try banana cake recipes from this site that are actually fluffy and taste like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good recipe however I made some pretty substantial revisions... - the recipe calls for a LOT of sugar - 125g is plenty sweet enough! - we had small bananas, so i used 3. - buttermilk is not really that common place anymore, however a quick google revealed that plain yoghurt/creme fraiche and milk (50:50) mix is a good substitute - well it tasted good to friends and family! - I used a mix of margerine & butter seemed to work well as a substitue for shortening (again, not commonplace here!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I guess I was expecting the cake to actually be fluffy. The flavor was good, but it turned out just about as dense as my traditional banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
It was a good cake but the batter was thick. Right then I thought maybe I should add some more buttermilk to make it like cake batter. After eating it I should have went with my instinct because it was a little dry. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I doubled this recipe and made it for about 25 people, they licked the cake 9X13's CLEAN! Also took the advice of another review and used the cream cheese whip cream frosting and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Delicious, light and fluffy as promised! I used canola oil instead of shortening to make it (somewhat healthier). Also took another reviewer's recommendation and used only 1 cup of sugar - it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Easy to make and had a great texture. Nice change from banana bread. Frosted with 8oz cream cheese whipped with 7oz of Fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made these as cupcakes for my daughter's monkey-themed birthday. I used 3 bananas (1 1/4 c mashed) and decreased sugar to 1 c as well as using unsalted butter in lieu of shortening (I always use real butter for baking!). They were very good and were fluffy - I wanted something that wasn't going to feel heavy like banana bread and this was it. Even with the sugar decrease they were still nicely sweet especially if planning to ice them. I also used very ripe bananas so maybe they added their own extra sweetness? Lastly this is enough batter for 12 nice, full-sized cupcakes or 18 cupcakes that are a little on the small side but since they rise so well it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States