Fluffy Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
wonderful flavor and texture. The title of this recipe speaks true. I replaced shortening with butter, and added 1 1/4 cup mashed banana that I had in the freezer. Made in a 9x13 pan and baked in my oven for 45 minutes. I made a 'review' mini muffin and this is outstanding. Light and airy but yet rich tasting w/the butter substitution. Made 'WHIPPED CREAM CREAM CHEESE FROSTING' recipe from this site (by Tom) and if you have never tried this frosting, it is a must. It is so addictive and is the perfect compliment to this cake, as the frosting is very light and whippy and not sickening sweet. Made a day ahead for a treat to the co-workers tomorrow. Thanks for this lovely and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This cake was NOT fluffy or cake like. This tastes exactly like dense banana bread. I followed the basic directions except subbed real butter for the shortening and cut back on the white sugar slightly. After reading reviewers problems with sticking I decided to try muffins. I got 12 nice sized muffins (used liners) cooked in 18 minutes. This does have a light banana flavor. I used the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting recipe by Tom (which was fantastic). I will continue to try banana cake recipes from this site that are actually fluffy and taste like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This cake is SOO good. I can't even believe how much flavor 2 bananas gave it. It was too sweet so I will only use 3/4 cup of sugar next time. Beware! The buttermilk will curdle the batter upon adding it! This is normal! I threw it out and tried it again the next day with a new carton, and then realized it was fine the first time. This cake is fluffy as it claims, and has a really delicious crust. I also used butter instead of shortening and will do the same next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was wonderful! Light and fluffy, and full of flavor! Not sure what the problem was with the others that thought it was dense. I didn't change a thing, made it exactly the way the recipe said to. Delicious. I made two heart shaped cakes, and I will be sending one with my daughter to school for her class party tomorrow. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a great cake - I couldn't be more pleased. BUT...I did't make it exactly to specifications. I used butter rather than shortening, tho' because I'm familiar with cakes made with both I know I would not have been disappointed had I prepared the cake with shortening. I used one more banana and just a tad more buttermilk than called for. I wanted banana cake, not banana bread, so I figured these two adjustments would help achieve that. I mixed this up a little differently than the recipe instructs. I creamed the butter and sugar VERY well, then added the eggs and vanilla, beating well after each. Then I blended in the mashed bananas. I added the dry ingredients alternately in thirds with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Most important in my mind was that I used 8" rather than 9" layer cake pans which turned out a perfectly sized cake - baked about 30 minutes. I'm not sure I would have been as happy with the "shorter" cake that would have resulted from the 9" pans. I chose to frost it with a chocolate buttercream frosting and garnished it with crushed Milano cookies. I had no issues with it being a dense cake at all and was quite happy with it's light, moist crumb. The ripeness of the bananas I used was reflected in how pleasantly flavorful and sweet the cake was. This is just a good old-fashioned banana layer cake I wouldn't hesitate to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made these as cupcakes for my daughter's monkey-themed birthday. I used 3 bananas (1 1/4 c mashed) and decreased sugar to 1 c as well as using unsalted butter in lieu of shortening (I always use real butter for baking!). They were very good and were fluffy - I wanted something that wasn't going to feel heavy like banana bread and this was it. Even with the sugar decrease they were still nicely sweet especially if planning to ice them. I also used very ripe bananas so maybe they added their own extra sweetness? Lastly this is enough batter for 12 nice, full-sized cupcakes or 18 cupcakes that are a little on the small side but since they rise so well it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I have made a few changes to this recipe when I made it. I did not have shortening so I added butter instead. I also used 1/2c of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The cake that emerges from this thick, viscous batter is surprisingly light and mouthwatering. My only change was to put the bananas into a food processor for a bit to smooth the batter out. I wanted something that I could create a chocolate covered banana cupcake with and this is the perfect base! I would recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I guess I was expecting the cake to actually be fluffy. The flavor was good, but it turned out just about as dense as my traditional banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I doubled this recipe and made it for about 25 people, they licked the cake 9X13's CLEAN! Also took the advice of another review and used the cream cheese whip cream frosting and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States