Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Recipes like this are the reason I like this site so much. I bake a lot but had no idea how to make the flourless chocolate cake my husband likes in restaurants - I even thought I might buy one, but it was easy to achieve perfection! I read these reviews, and thanks to one who said the cocoa imparts a brownie flavor, I omitted it and used half a bag of semi-sweet chips and small box of TJ's dark chocolate valentines truffles (recommend seasonal clearanced chocolate = cheap and fresh). So I cut down the sugar, melted chocolates and butter in the microwave. Stir OFTEN and keep water away from melting chocolate. Baked in a spring form pan using spray and cocoa on the bottom, but I did have to bake it honestly 20 minutes longer to set at such a low temperature. Voila - fantastique! Also divine reheated in microwave for 15 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
After reading the reviews, I made the following changes: Used 8 oz of semisweet baking chocolate and eliminated the cocoa powder. Separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites before folding into the rest of the mixture. I brought this to a dinner party last night and served it topped with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. Not a crumb was left and everyone wanted the recipe! We paired this dessert with a bottle of 7 Deadly Zins wine from Sonoma Valley which turned out to be an excellent pairing! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe, Shana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very rich and dense, but delicious. We serverd ours with rasberries and real whipped cream! Perfect for those who cannont have gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used 8 oz of semisweet chocolate as another reviewer suggested and this kicked it up a notch. I also melted the butter and chocolate in the microwave. Made this and even simpler recipe. Delicious. Will make again. We also ate it while it was hot. Fell apart a little, but it was just the family so it didn't need to be beautiful, only delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is great - and easy. I beat the egg whites separately and fold them into the batter. I made this as cupcakes and baked them for 20- 15 minutes. Watch them closely to be sure you don't over-cook. The middle will sink - fill it with ice cream and serve hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I also melted the butter in a saucepan and then added the chocolate. It worked just fine that way, if you don't have a double boiler. Instead of squares of chocolate, I measured out 4 oz of semisweet chocolate chips, which also worked fine. I made this as a treat for my husband and topped it with Sweetened Whipped Cream, also from this site. It was EXCELLENT! Easy, fast and something for which I almost always have all the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I am not sure what happened but I had some technical issues. After the cake cooled in the pan, I could not get it out. It was stuck to the bottom. It really tasted great but it was so heavy and moist it did not want to come out of the pan and completely fell apart. I must have done something wrong because this recipe has 5 stars...I greased and dusted the pan with cocoa powder and let the cake cool completely. Maybe I will try this again because it really tasted great despite it falling to pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This recipe is so simple and so delicious and completely gluten free. Anyone can make this. If you want to add a bit of a change to complement coffee or ice cream you can add a little flavoring. I added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I'm making it again for a special dinner and adding hazelnut extract this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I've made this several times as it. Wouldn't change a thing. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
really good! I used chocolate chips and a tsp espresso powder. perfect. Way better than the other flourless chocolate cakes and soooo much quicker and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States