Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by peacockfeathers37
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This is one of the easiest recipes I have tried but a lot of the reviews are right that it may take 10 or so more minutes in your own oven. The centres of flourless cakes in all the other recipes I looked at said that the centres were meant to be slightly gooey looking. I just took it out when a toothpick came out clean. I let it cool in my pan for 20 minutes and then completely on a wire rack. I use silicone cake pans and they do not need to be dusted or greased. I didn't grease or dust and the cake came out completely fine. It has an extreme chocolate taste almost like eating a 70% Dark Chocolate bar. If you prefer sweeter chocolate I don't recommend this cake or any like it as most are meant to taste like this. I will try going full chocolate next time instead of with the cocoa. Also I would like to point out that I am in the UK and used an electric fan assisted oven and so had to bake it at 130 degrees celsius if you have the same always deduct 20 degrees from the celsius temperature given if it does not list a fan assisted temperature as well. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this for Passover and it was fabulous! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I had trouble removing it from the pan. I had a lot going on in the kitchen the day I made it and may not have waited a full 10 minutes to remove it from the pan, so that would be my fault. Despite that, we were able to mush it back together and it was delicious. Each time I had it, I paired a sliver of this with a sliver of cheesecake for an awesome combination. Update: Made it again tonight. To make it a little healthier, I used raw cacao powder and coconut sugar. I set my timer this time, and it came out of the pan easier, but not 100%. There was still a chunk in the pan, but I was able to mush it back into place once again and no one could tell. Very easy recipe that comes together quickly with little cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am not much of a baker, this was super easy, and got rave reviews (brought it to a friend for passover)...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I've made this 2 different times and both times have required a longer cooking time than 30 minutes, closer to 40-50 min for me. I used a 9 inch round pan, maybe that's the problem?? Having said that, this is delicious!! Our oldest has a newly discovered wheat allergy and he LOVES this. This will be a recipe that's used several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this for a kid who can't have gluten and he loved it. Right when you take it out of the oven it is very gooooy but if you let it sit out till cool it turns out just fine! yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Wonderful served with fresh raspberries. I have tried other flourless cakes before and they are often dry and dense, this is rich and moist. This recipe is a keeper and good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this cake for a friend, couldn't even give it to her. The cake wouldn't come out of the pan. It came out in pieces, which tasted like fudge, but such a mess! I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought this was very delicious! Will make it again. I followed another suggestion and used two bars of chocolate bars instead of the cocoa powder. I did use cocoa powder when I greased the pan. I don't think that worked well to keep the cake from sticking. I would have given this 5 stars if I followed the recipe exactly. But since that annoys me when others don't rate the recipe as written, I will only give it 4 stars because I altered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mecookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this recipe the other night almost exactly to the T, didnt look like the picture but was yummier then the picture looked! I used a 9" springfoam pan, it came out about 1/2 thick, cut it like pie and added cool whip to top.. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Oh, my God!!! I was a bit skeptical about that recipe, I couldn't quite picture in my mind what that cake could taste like, but, wow! it is amazing. I just followed the recipe, and it turned out fantastic. The only thing I would change, next time, is bake it a little bit longer, when it was warmed over for serving, the middle was very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States