Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I followed MommyFrom Seattle's recommendations. That made it delicious! Kkip the cocoa and use all chocolate bars. I've made this many times and find that using cocoa gave the cake a grittier, more brownie-like texture. So I now use 2 full bars of Ghiradelli Bittersweet Chocolate (8 oz. total) or use one bar Bittersweet and one bar semi-sweet and skip the cocoa powder completely (ADD 8-10 min. cooking time). I still use the same amount of sugar. Using ALL chocolate bars gives this a silkier texutre not to mention a stronger chocolate flavor. Serve with fresh sliced strawberries or raspberries or vanilla ice cream and a dusting of powdered sugar for a dessert made for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Eating gluten free, and found this recipe to help my chocolate cravings! Wonderful. Not too sweet, stays moist a long time. More like a brownie. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
amazingly delicious cake ... may b the best cake i've made i must say... i had to add lil hot water to the batter since it was too thick 4 me i dont knw y though... n instead of vanilla i used cofee powder 2 tsp... n thts it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I can't say enough about this recipe, but I made a couple of changes to make it even easier. I've tried many flourless chocolate cake recipes, and this is IT. I melted Nestle chocolate chips (semi sweet) instead of the squares in the microwave, in small time increments (20 seconds). I then buttered, and dusted with cocoa my muffin pan. I was able to get 9 inidvidual cakes. I baked for about 20 minutes until the tops puffed slightly. I cooled completely, and they turned out nicely. Put them in the fridge, and then right before dessert, a few days later, nuked them for about 15 seconds and topped with ice cream and chocolate shell. Right out of a restaurant, and EASY. Our friends loved them just as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was great! It reminds me of a fudge cake, and my husband thinks it's like a brownie cake. I topped it with chocolate ganache. Next time I'll try it with all chocolate bars as a reviewer suggested, but I like the original recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peacockfeathers37
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This is one of the easiest recipes I have tried but a lot of the reviews are right that it may take 10 or so more minutes in your own oven. The centres of flourless cakes in all the other recipes I looked at said that the centres were meant to be slightly gooey looking. I just took it out when a toothpick came out clean. I let it cool in my pan for 20 minutes and then completely on a wire rack. I use silicone cake pans and they do not need to be dusted or greased. I didn't grease or dust and the cake came out completely fine. It has an extreme chocolate taste almost like eating a 70% Dark Chocolate bar. If you prefer sweeter chocolate I don't recommend this cake or any like it as most are meant to taste like this. I will try going full chocolate next time instead of with the cocoa. Also I would like to point out that I am in the UK and used an electric fan assisted oven and so had to bake it at 130 degrees celsius if you have the same always deduct 20 degrees from the celsius temperature given if it does not list a fan assisted temperature as well. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this for Passover and it was fabulous! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I had trouble removing it from the pan. I had a lot going on in the kitchen the day I made it and may not have waited a full 10 minutes to remove it from the pan, so that would be my fault. Despite that, we were able to mush it back together and it was delicious. Each time I had it, I paired a sliver of this with a sliver of cheesecake for an awesome combination. Update: Made it again tonight. To make it a little healthier, I used raw cacao powder and coconut sugar. I set my timer this time, and it came out of the pan easier, but not 100%. There was still a chunk in the pan, but I was able to mush it back into place once again and no one could tell. Very easy recipe that comes together quickly with little cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am not much of a baker, this was super easy, and got rave reviews (brought it to a friend for passover)...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I've made this 2 different times and both times have required a longer cooking time than 30 minutes, closer to 40-50 min for me. I used a 9 inch round pan, maybe that's the problem?? Having said that, this is delicious!! Our oldest has a newly discovered wheat allergy and he LOVES this. This will be a recipe that's used several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this for a kid who can't have gluten and he loved it. Right when you take it out of the oven it is very gooooy but if you let it sit out till cool it turns out just fine! yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States