Flourless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very nice and EASY. Only next time I will use a wax paper under... The cake broke to pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe and I made it for my fiancé and his family for his birthday. MAJOR issue: the cake will not come out of the pan if prepared as written. I heavily greased the pan. Must use wax paper or something in the pan or use another recipe for better instructions. Tastes good, but is practically just a fudge. I'd recommend a different recipe or prepare this in individual saucers so it won't have to be removed from the cooking pan. Check out the recipe for The Black Beast; I'll make it next time and it was highly recommended by a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Amazing cake. Can be eaten warm with ice cream or with fresh fruit. Doesn't even need a frosting. Some reviews mentioned the cocoa makes it gritty but I disagree. No grittiness. All my coworkers loved it. Would not change a thing on this recipe. It's perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have been making this for years and I LOVE it! It always gets rave reviews and people are so impressed because it's such a sophisticated dessert even though it's really easy to make. I make it exactly like the recipe states and it turns out great. Delicious served with raspberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
So easy. Followed the directions exactly EXCEPT I heated the chocolate and butter on lowest heat in a sauce pan on the stove. Also, glazed it with chocolate after. I actually like it better chilled then hot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
just made this recipe - used 1 cup chocolate chips instead of chocolate and cocoa - as per some reviewers advice. so.. I ended up having to bake it and extra 50 MINUTES for a toothpick to come out clean.. at which time my bf asked if it was burning.. i took it out, it was beautiful,cooled it for 15 minutes and it had sank a tremendous amount. it came out fine (with parchment, grease and cocoa, and to my surprise - the bottom edges were burnt and the middle was gooey & wet.i am a trained culinary student and i have a brand new 36" gas convection oven.. so its not bc of lack of experience or a weak oven. not sure what happened here. very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious! One of my goals, after being diagnosed with Celiac's Disease, was to adapt all my favorite family recipes to be gluten free. When I read this recipe, it provided me the basis for modifying my family’s Texas Sheet Cake recipe. Here are the changes I made to turn this flourless cake recipe into my version of Texas Sheet Cake. #1 – I doubled everything in the recipe with the exception of the eggs. I only used 3 eggs. #2 – I melted the butter and chocolate (I used semi-sweet chocolate chips) in the microwave. #3 – I used Mexican vanilla in the batter instead of regular vanilla. #4 – I poured the mixture into a small 16x11 sheet pan (lined with parchment paper, greased with butter and dusted in cocoa powder) and baked as directed. #5 – Instead of topping with ganache, I used this icing recipe. 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional), 1 stick butter, 3 tablespoons cocoa powder, 6 tablespoons milk, 1 pound confectioner sugar, 1 teaspoon regular vanilla. Mix butter, cocoa and milk. Heat over a low heat. Remove and add sugar, vanilla and nuts. Pour over cake and spread. I now have a gluten free version of my families Texas Sheet Cake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was fantastic! Such a treat! Thanks to previous reviewers, I decreased the amount of cocoa (put in a heaping tablespoon instead of the 1/2 cup), and used 6 one-ounce squares of semisweet chocolate instead of 4. Lined the pan with parchment, and used Wilton cake release around the sides of the pan. Baked for 35 minutes, cooled for 10, and the whole cake was gone in the blink of an eye! We served it with whipping cream to make this dessert even more decadent! Thank you so much for sharing this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I followed MommyFrom Seattle's recommendations. That made it delicious! Kkip the cocoa and use all chocolate bars. I've made this many times and find that using cocoa gave the cake a grittier, more brownie-like texture. So I now use 2 full bars of Ghiradelli Bittersweet Chocolate (8 oz. total) or use one bar Bittersweet and one bar semi-sweet and skip the cocoa powder completely (ADD 8-10 min. cooking time). I still use the same amount of sugar. Using ALL chocolate bars gives this a silkier texutre not to mention a stronger chocolate flavor. Serve with fresh sliced strawberries or raspberries or vanilla ice cream and a dusting of powdered sugar for a dessert made for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Eating gluten free, and found this recipe to help my chocolate cravings! Wonderful. Not too sweet, stays moist a long time. More like a brownie. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States