Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Delicious - I used semi sweet chips (3 cups is 18 ozs) and did not alter the amount of sugar - it was sweet, but still fine. I used a 9 inch spring form pan and cooked 50 mins, and it was still runny in the middle. It is a little tough to tell when it is really done. Also, I think the instructions should say that your butter should be at room temperature, otherwise it won't incorporate very easily. I used a hand mixer and it took forever to get the mixture smooth. I like the idea of using coffee instead of water, or maybe even a few tablespoons of kahlua to give it a little different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe more than a few times and it has become a big favorite! I didn't change a thing. Simply amazing chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I am not sure where I went wrong, but this recipe was a major disappointment. Noticeable fatty layer on the bottom, grain texture, not at all yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've made the cake version a couple times, and folks loved it! But, it's so rich that it's hard to make the serving size work. So I tried making it in mini-muffin tins, and it works beautifully. I adjusted the cooking time to 25 minutes; the mini's won't look wet in the center, but don't worry about that. Also, I spray an ocean of non-stick spray in, even though the muffin tin has a coating. I let the mini's cool at least 30 minutes, then go around the edge with a butter knife or a mini icing spatula to loosen them. These look really nice on a cake stand drizzled with raspberry puree and a puff of whipped cream. As others have said, you really need some tartness to balance the richness of the chocolate. The whipped cream is nice but not as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Not too sweet, substituted semi-sweet chocolate, and salted butter, served it with whipped cream and fresh raspberries...delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M Woodworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just was wondering how long does it take to cook this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Love the recipe! My first attempt at a flourless cake was a success. I made this for my friend's birthday & it was AMAZING! So rich and decadent... My changes: I used 3 eggs and 3 egg whites, per another reviewers suggestion and used a combo of bittersweet chocolate sqaures and semi-sweet chips, simply due to cost. I baked this cake in a 9" springform pan, so I let it cook 55 minutes without the waterbath and it was perfect! I served it with raspberries & Truwhip to cut the richness. This is definitely a special occasion cake! Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used a 9 inch square springform pan. I didn't change anything else. This recipe was perfect and so easy to make. Intense chocolate taste and a real crowd pleaser gluten free or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is incredible! It got rave reviews from everyone, even those not crazy about chocolate (me.) It's both elegant and easy and will definitely be on my family's special occasion list from now on. I used butter that was perhaps a bit too soft and was afraid it would separate when I mixed in the syrup and melted chocolate, but it was fine. My only suggestion is to make sure to use room temperature eggs and then temper them before adding to the rest of the ingredients. Texture was silky smooth, the taste rich but not heavy, better than truffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Merwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States