Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used my KitchenAid stand mixer and found that the batter cooled toward the outside so it got sticky and I had to scrape it down quite a bit. Bigger chunks of butter (more than 1 Tbsp) might have helped, or melting the chocolate (I used 60% Ghirardelli) to a higher temp also might have helped. I used a springform pan with a water bath and a little water leaked into the edge of the cake. I chilled it overnight. When I served it the consistency was very gooey although the flavor was good. There were occasional bits of egg white so I think the mixer wasn't effective. Would consider trying this again with different process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made numerous flourless chocolate cake recipes, and this ranks amongst the best. I made a few modifications, but only because of the ingredients I had on hand. I used 12 oz of bittersweet chocolate, 4 oz of semisweet and 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate. I added 5 large eggs (it was what I had!). I used a 9-inch springform pan, didn't use the water bath, and baked the cake for the amount of time indicated. The cake was superb - it cut beautifully, was smooth and as many suggested I served it with a lightly sweetened whipped cream to balance the chocolate. I thought the preparation method was very unique - this is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing Maggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I did follow the advice from other reviewers and used 3 whole eggs and 3 whites. We skipped the liquor for this one. It was silky smooth, melt in your mouth chocolatey goodness. We all started with thin slices but kept going back for more. I made this with a simple raspberry sauce using thawed raspberries, a touch of sugar and water which I cooked, strained then reduced before adding a little cornstarch. This concentrated raspberry flavor was a perfect compliment to the truffle like cake. Looking forward to trying this with Irish Creme or a good orange or raspberry liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this at my husbands request. Read the reviews first and decided to use Trader Joe's semi sweet chocolate chips and the 3 egg/3egg white suggestion. Also, added a packet of Starbucks Via instant coffee to the sugar water mixture. Lightly beat the eggs (used room temperature) and tempered with a quarter of the sugar/water mix before adding to chocolate. The result was amazingly smooth with a hint of mocha! Should point out that I used a darker finish springform pan and needed 5-7 extra minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Totally sinful! I drizzled blended strawberries with sugar and raspberry schnapps over the top. Added some fresh mint and raspberries for an elegant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It's great my mom is gf and df (glutenfree and dairy free) and she loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made it exactly as written. People raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was incredibly chocolatey and fudgy! Only change I made to the recipe was baking it in a 9 inch pan for about 50 minutes, in the water bath. It did fall apart when I cut it, but it wasn't dry. The end result is not really like cake, but I can imagine it being awesome in layers with a traditional chocolate cake, or with vanilla ice cream. I followed other reviewers suggestions and served with canned whipped cream and mixed berries, which complement it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My 13-year old daughter made this with minimal help from me to take to a dinner with gluten-free guests. On the plus side, it was easy to make. We used a springboard pan but no water bath. The cake is definitely ultra rich like eating a truffle. We made a strawberry sauce to go on the side. While this was an okay dessert, I'd rather have a brownie or other chocolate treat. Too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made and loved this cake! Family, friends & coworkers raved!!!!! This recipe used to be accompanied by the recipe for the Raspberry Reduction Sauce the cake is drizzled with in the picture. Where did it go? I searched this site and it's gone. Luckily I already have it printed out, but it's a shame future bakers won't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D*Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States