Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I tried this one yesterday. it was ok. I've had better. My spring form pan must not have been 100% sealed so I had a bit of cake batter drip out. In the end there was a thin pale layer at the bottom of the pan that tasted like nothing, but had an odd look. The rest of the cake tasted really good, smooth, creamy, delicious. It only ended up being about 3/4 inch thick so I made a chocolate mousse to top it to make the cake a total of about 2-inches high. the mousse is what save it all ---- totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
18 squares = 1 OZ ??? how is this possible all the other ecipes for this type cake call for at least 4 oz's? please clarify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Schneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clarkgilmer
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
For me, it was way too rich. Aside from the mass amount of butter, the actual taste was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkgilmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is just what Flourless Chocolate Cake should be! It was outrageously popular. Baked in a 10" springform, parchment base, greased and dusted cocoa powder sides, with foil outside to protect from water. (Needed only abt 3/4" water) Mixed chocolates since I didn't have all bittersweet(4oz bittersweet, the rest semi chips). I found it easiest to melt in small batches in the double boiler and mix with the butter. Added instant espresso crystals. Will cut the recipe and make it in a smaller pan next time, easier to find a waterbath pan to go with my 8" that the 10". A little time consuming but this recipe is worth the extra effort--Creamy, Dense, Sumptuous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I LOVE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wow! Wow! Wow! It was well worth the effort. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is very rich, smooth, and sumptuous. Turned out great, comparable to any rich flour-less chocolate cake I have had at any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Love it but I need to cut back on the sugar, especially if I am using a chocolate chip (semisweet). I usually make my own bittersweet with cocoa powder but I have made it with semisweet chips. I also like to add vanilla or almond extract. I want to try mint for christmas, too. I made this in cupcake form for a bake sale and got many requests for the recipe. Top with whip cream and raspberries! so creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Delicious - I used semi sweet chips (3 cups is 18 ozs) and did not alter the amount of sugar - it was sweet, but still fine. I used a 9 inch spring form pan and cooked 50 mins, and it was still runny in the middle. It is a little tough to tell when it is really done. Also, I think the instructions should say that your butter should be at room temperature, otherwise it won't incorporate very easily. I used a hand mixer and it took forever to get the mixture smooth. I like the idea of using coffee instead of water, or maybe even a few tablespoons of kahlua to give it a little different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe more than a few times and it has become a big favorite! I didn't change a thing. Simply amazing chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States