Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Just made this yesterday. It was fantastic. We really just loved it. In an attempt at making it a little more heart friendly, I made these substitutions: I used coconut oil in place of butter and coconut palm sugar for the sugar. I also used 3 whole eggs and 3 egg whites. Put in the fridge for a couple of hours before serving. It is just so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
It is a wonderful dessert! I reduced the eggs also and substituted the egg whites per above review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Great chocolate cake!! sides puffed up when cooking, them fell and make a nice crisp "crust" and an indention , which i filled with ganache. Another great allrecipes dish!!! This one has made this site my number one good to for all me recipe needs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The flavor was excellent. Everyone at our dinner party loved it (as did I). Some people had seconds. One person said that it is the "perfect" dessert. (I served it with raspberry sauce and Ben & Jerry's vanilla ice cream.) One suggestion and one disappointment: Suggestion is that you place parchment paper on the bottom of the pan. I was unable to get the cake out of the pan. No matter how much I rested the pan in hot water, the cake wouldn't release. So, instead of presenting it (whole) on a nice (large) plate, I had to cut it directly out of the pan (and then onto dessert plates). Not a huge deal but still ... My disappointment was that I expected a creamier cake and, instead, it was a bit crumbly. It still tasted great and it was definitely dense and delicious. But I would've liked a creamier cake that held together when I cut it and placed it on the dessert plate rather than, to a certain extent, falling apart into crumbs. I will definitely service this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have eaten my share of cake in my lifetime, and I have to say this is easily the BEST chocolate cake I have ever eaten. Dense, moist, and rich. Actually easy to make and the directions could not be clearer. However, read your chocolate amounts carefully as my squares were half ounces and not ounce squares . Look closely at the amounts on your chocolate packaging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carliescaketastrophes
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Loved it! Wouldn't change a thing. Poured ganache over the top for a polished look and topped with edible flowers and berries. So classy and sooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I found that this recipe produced the most incredible, dense, moist chocolate cake that I had ever eaten. My guests were "wowed". At least 8 people tried it and I stil have half the cake left, it was so rich, without being cloyingly over-sweet. However this was the cake that produced the 2nd time I tried. The first time, after following the recipe to the letter, I produced a cake that had the consistency of mousse. I was nearly impossitble to cut and by all looks and apperances was underdone. I tested my oven and found the temperature was correct. I decided to try again and made 2 changes, first I left it in for 55 minutes, after taking it out it still was not done, so I increased the temparature to 325 and put it in for another 5 minutes. This seemed to make the difference, it was still we in the center, but I left it on the counter for 30 minutes before putting in the refrigerator to chill (my 2nd change) and it receded a bit away from the edge of the pan during that time. That was the cake that wowed my guests and after 3 days is still moist. I will thru at least 2 hundred reviews looking for a similar problem and have found none so far. The only thing I can think of is that I used a dark colored Calphalon 9 inch round pan. I will use a silver colored pan next time, continue to let it sit for 30 minutes after coming out of the oven and see if that producres that same rich, dense, moist creation that came out of my oven several weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This cake tasted delicious but texture was more like fudge. Just wondering if it's supposed to be so soft????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasalsano
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I have made this cake multiple times. Great recipe, I took the advice from another review and used three whole eggs, and three egg whites. It's delicious, but it is very rich. I have been changing the type of chocolate I use, last time I used 8oz of unsweetened and the rest bittersweet, it taste like a dark chocolate truffle. Next time I will try 4oz unsweetened. I would suggest this to anyone who likes chocolate, its a big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States