Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is delicious, I have been buying one of these every year for over 10 years, never again. I did have 1 problem, while each bite was melting in my mouth i felt like little clumps were there but all I could see were a lot of small air bubbles. Any ideas why this happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this to sell at a cafe and it turned out perfect! Followed recipe exactly. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Venesa O.
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I baked this for my coworkers and it was a HUGE HIT!! It was all gone!! I added strawberries as a garnish and my gluten free coworker was in heaven! It was described as "tastefully sinful!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I'm making this recipe now. The only thing I would change is adding a chocolate glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is without a doubt the best experience I have ever had with chocolate cake! This will be made at the holidays for that extra special desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this for a company dessert tonight and followed the recipe exactly-it was perfect, exactly like one I had recently made by a much more talented cook than I am! Not hard at all, and the flavor was out of this world. I served it with homemade whipped cream with just about two tablespoons of sugar per 2 cups-the cake is plenty rich without it though. My only issue was that it did not come out of the cake pan, I ended up just having to cut it like pie-but I think that was my fault, I did not have the time to let it refrigerate overnight. Next time I will make sure I do that and I bet it will come out great. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used my KitchenAid stand mixer and found that the batter cooled toward the outside so it got sticky and I had to scrape it down quite a bit. Bigger chunks of butter (more than 1 Tbsp) might have helped, or melting the chocolate (I used 60% Ghirardelli) to a higher temp also might have helped. I used a springform pan with a water bath and a little water leaked into the edge of the cake. I chilled it overnight. When I served it the consistency was very gooey although the flavor was good. There were occasional bits of egg white so I think the mixer wasn't effective. Would consider trying this again with different process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made numerous flourless chocolate cake recipes, and this ranks amongst the best. I made a few modifications, but only because of the ingredients I had on hand. I used 12 oz of bittersweet chocolate, 4 oz of semisweet and 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate. I added 5 large eggs (it was what I had!). I used a 9-inch springform pan, didn't use the water bath, and baked the cake for the amount of time indicated. The cake was superb - it cut beautifully, was smooth and as many suggested I served it with a lightly sweetened whipped cream to balance the chocolate. I thought the preparation method was very unique - this is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing Maggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I did follow the advice from other reviewers and used 3 whole eggs and 3 whites. We skipped the liquor for this one. It was silky smooth, melt in your mouth chocolatey goodness. We all started with thin slices but kept going back for more. I made this with a simple raspberry sauce using thawed raspberries, a touch of sugar and water which I cooked, strained then reduced before adding a little cornstarch. This concentrated raspberry flavor was a perfect compliment to the truffle like cake. Looking forward to trying this with Irish Creme or a good orange or raspberry liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this at my husbands request. Read the reviews first and decided to use Trader Joe's semi sweet chocolate chips and the 3 egg/3egg white suggestion. Also, added a packet of Starbucks Via instant coffee to the sugar water mixture. Lightly beat the eggs (used room temperature) and tempered with a quarter of the sugar/water mix before adding to chocolate. The result was amazingly smooth with a hint of mocha! Should point out that I used a darker finish springform pan and needed 5-7 extra minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States