Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Mrs.McG
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this today for my husband's birthday. Followed every step. The only thing I did differently was I used 16 oz instead of 18 oz of bittersweet chocolate. Butter was still a little hard but it still came out wonderful. My husband loved it and said that it is better than the one we had at the restaurant. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.McG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
oh.. my.. gawd... its so (insert profanity) goooooooddd! i cant believe how PERFECT it turned out!!! I WILL DEFINITELY, VERY DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN! DELICIOUS! am i too obvious..? ah! i love this recipe! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
For my first attempt I think it turned out pretty good. I didnt bother with the water bath and used strong coffee to replace the water. I used valhrona chocolate and needed to add a bit more sugar otherwise it would have been too bitter as others have experienced. I always cook by taste though so any recipe to me isnt set in stone. I crunched up an oreo pie shell and poured the batter over that for some texture. Next time I would use parchment paper to help ease it out of the pan. Calling it a cake is misleading though. Its more like a dessert that you would get in a fine coffee shop or cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy, was a hit . I brought it to a party and came back with an empty plate. Very rich and creamy, very much like a genache only much more dense. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Outstanding!!!! I made this for a my grandson 's birthday. (He's in college). Everyone loved it and I was even asked to share the recipe. I'm going to serve it for Thanksgiving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The first time I made this cake I used semi sweet chocolate chips and a 10 inch springfoam pan, couldn't get the cake to come out of the pan in one piece.... Bummer! So I tried it again in a 9 inch cake pan, cooked it in water bath and also used milk chocolate chips. I love chocolate but not bitter or even semi sweet. After running a knife around the pan and using the parchment paper buttered well in bottom it came out great! I think I should have baked it 50 or 55 minutes but it's still really creamy and think, just like a huge piece of fudge. :) Keep it in the freezer and put whipped cream on it whenever I want a piece, which is everyday :) my daughter loved it and danced around the kitchen while eating her piece. Will absolutely make this cake ( fudge) again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I followed the directions as written, the family loved it. I made a quick raspberry sauce with frozen raspberries, raspberry jam and a little corn starch. I topped it with whipped cream. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So amazingly good. I'd suggest using a mixer or food processor right before putting it in your cake pan because it was a tiny bit lumpy....but overall, the taste was flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My friends all LOVE it when I bring this cake to our potluck dinners. I make it just as the recipe is written except I used a regular round cake pan lined with parchment paper (sprayed with PAM). Because I thought it could use some EXTRA chocolate, I topped it with Satiny Chocolate Glaze (recipe on this site). I highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great recipe. The flavor and texture are delicious. I made this for some guests that were coming over that are trying to eat gluten-free. I had several guests say that they preferred this over regular (flour) chocolate cakes. I did take the suggestions from some of the other reviews. Including using 3 whole eggs and 3 egg whites. I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips (2 1/4 c) and lowered the sugar to only 1/2 c. The only problem I had was trying to get it out of the pan in one piece. I used a springform pan and that helped, but will have to make this again (oh bummer) to try and get it out without falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States