Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just was wondering how long does it take to cook this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Love the recipe! My first attempt at a flourless cake was a success. I made this for my friend's birthday & it was AMAZING! So rich and decadent... My changes: I used 3 eggs and 3 egg whites, per another reviewers suggestion and used a combo of bittersweet chocolate sqaures and semi-sweet chips, simply due to cost. I baked this cake in a 9" springform pan, so I let it cook 55 minutes without the waterbath and it was perfect! I served it with raspberries & Truwhip to cut the richness. This is definitely a special occasion cake! Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used a 9 inch square springform pan. I didn't change anything else. This recipe was perfect and so easy to make. Intense chocolate taste and a real crowd pleaser gluten free or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is incredible! It got rave reviews from everyone, even those not crazy about chocolate (me.) It's both elegant and easy and will definitely be on my family's special occasion list from now on. I used butter that was perhaps a bit too soft and was afraid it would separate when I mixed in the syrup and melted chocolate, but it was fine. My only suggestion is to make sure to use room temperature eggs and then temper them before adding to the rest of the ingredients. Texture was silky smooth, the taste rich but not heavy, better than truffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Merwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Be sure to use the water bath - I did not and my cake cracked. Still absolutely divine, but the small cracks were disappointing. I wanted to lightly powder with powdered sugar, but ended up adding a strawberry topping instead. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious and easy! I get wow's aplenty whenever I make this, whether for my gluten-intolerant friends or any chocolate lover! I use 18 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet and pull back on the added sugar to 1/2 cup. I did make the mistake of overcooking it once and it was dry and a bit grainy, so do leave some of the shine in the middle, as the directions note. Thanks for an awesome go-to chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This recipe came out absolutely delicious! I will be keeping it on hand for all future parties and gatherings where I am asked to bring some sort of dish. It is sure to WOW everyone there and make them think you are a professional baker! I actually did not make a glaze to cover the top, but I did have a chocolate/fudge frosting on hand that I thinned out and spread over the top. It worked nicely. In the future I think I will make a raspberry or strawberry chocolate glaze with the actual fruits in it to add on top. My suggestions/recommendations for those who had trouble with this recipe: 1. The cake is supposed to be wet when it comes out of the oven. DO NOT bake it at a higher degree or for longer or it will be dry. 2. Freeze the cake in the freezer overnight. The fridge just did not get the cake hard enough and didn't congeal everything properly. ALSO, when you are done eating it, put it back in the freezer. It starts to melt a little bit like an ice cream cake. This will keep it firm. 3. Line the pan with parchment paper and cooking spray. It becomes fudgy and will be difficult to remove. 4. Chocolate/bakers squares can be expensive. I used kroger/store brand semi-sweet chocolate chips and it was delicious. I measured out 18 ounces in a measuring cup and couldn't tell there was a difference. 5. Make sure you boil water FIRST to put into the water bath pan. Also, make sure that you place the pan with batter into the water bath pan first before adding the water. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is delicious, I have been buying one of these every year for over 10 years, never again. I did have 1 problem, while each bite was melting in my mouth i felt like little clumps were there but all I could see were a lot of small air bubbles. Any ideas why this happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this to sell at a cafe and it turned out perfect! Followed recipe exactly. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States