Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is just what Flourless Chocolate Cake should be! It was outrageously popular. Baked in a 10" springform, parchment base, greased and dusted cocoa powder sides, with foil outside to protect from water. (Needed only abt 3/4" water) Mixed chocolates since I didn't have all bittersweet(4oz bittersweet, the rest semi chips). I found it easiest to melt in small batches in the double boiler and mix with the butter. Added instant espresso crystals. Will cut the recipe and make it in a smaller pan next time, easier to find a waterbath pan to go with my 8" that the 10". A little time consuming but this recipe is worth the extra effort--Creamy, Dense, Sumptuous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I LOVE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wow! Wow! Wow! It was well worth the effort. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is very rich, smooth, and sumptuous. Turned out great, comparable to any rich flour-less chocolate cake I have had at any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Love it but I need to cut back on the sugar, especially if I am using a chocolate chip (semisweet). I usually make my own bittersweet with cocoa powder but I have made it with semisweet chips. I also like to add vanilla or almond extract. I want to try mint for christmas, too. I made this in cupcake form for a bake sale and got many requests for the recipe. Top with whip cream and raspberries! so creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Delicious - I used semi sweet chips (3 cups is 18 ozs) and did not alter the amount of sugar - it was sweet, but still fine. I used a 9 inch spring form pan and cooked 50 mins, and it was still runny in the middle. It is a little tough to tell when it is really done. Also, I think the instructions should say that your butter should be at room temperature, otherwise it won't incorporate very easily. I used a hand mixer and it took forever to get the mixture smooth. I like the idea of using coffee instead of water, or maybe even a few tablespoons of kahlua to give it a little different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe more than a few times and it has become a big favorite! I didn't change a thing. Simply amazing chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I am not sure where I went wrong, but this recipe was a major disappointment. Noticeable fatty layer on the bottom, grain texture, not at all yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've made the cake version a couple times, and folks loved it! But, it's so rich that it's hard to make the serving size work. So I tried making it in mini-muffin tins, and it works beautifully. I adjusted the cooking time to 25 minutes; the mini's won't look wet in the center, but don't worry about that. Also, I spray an ocean of non-stick spray in, even though the muffin tin has a coating. I let the mini's cool at least 30 minutes, then go around the edge with a butter knife or a mini icing spatula to loosen them. These look really nice on a cake stand drizzled with raspberry puree and a puff of whipped cream. As others have said, you really need some tartness to balance the richness of the chocolate. The whipped cream is nice but not as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Not too sweet, substituted semi-sweet chocolate, and salted butter, served it with whipped cream and fresh raspberries...delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M Woodworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States