Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Was happy to find this pretty simple recipe for my glueten free friend. It was simple and turned out delicious tho ugly. I LOVE the suggestion of small glass of port with it! YUM! I skipped the water bath, baked for 45 minutes and put it in the fridge immediately. It was NOT coming out of the pan no matter what I did, so I just sliced it and "scooped" it out onto plates. Everyone loved it! Made it for a casual family gathering so it didn't really matter what it looked like. If it were a more formal occasion I would have gone the whole nine yards; water bath, parchment paper, spring form, yada yada. But it was a bit last minute and who cares? Chilled for about 4 hours, had a smooth consistancy. Next time I will go the extra mile. Will also probably omit and egg or two. Baked in a 9" nonstick cake pan.Oh ya, I used one bag semi sweet chips and 3/4 bag milk, perfect! Also only had one stick butter, used cirsco to make up the difference. This is a very forgiving recipe! UPDATE; second time around, same pan, did the water bath, used 3 eggs and 3 whites, one bag dark chocolate chunks and half bag semi-sweet chips, chilled immediately. Much prettier this time, a little bit smoother consistancy, but still not comin out of that pan! Well, it is, just not onto a serving platter, only onto my plate and into my mouth! Maybe a little better than the first try, either way still outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was good, but not amazing. After a few bites, I realized that it was really just another version of Southern chocolate pie. Maybe this is silly, but I don't see the point of calling a pie a "cake." Would be excellent with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. I also think that next time I make this I will line the bottom of the pan with a chocolatey crumble crust (I'm not gluten intolerant).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
So amazing. I had no idea this cake would turn out like this... almost tasted like a cheesecake! I used 1/2 cup of coffee like some other reviewers suggested, and used 6 eggs but separated 4 of them and beat the egg whites folding them into the mixture at the end. Baked in a springform pan lined with parchement, but cooled the cake exactly as recipe describes to, and it came out no problem. I used dark chocolate shaving on top, and put blobs of whipped cream around the edge with chocolate covered strawberries. (served the whole thing with "sweetened whipped cream, from this site). I already got requests to bring this to two parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I guess this is the best chocolate cake I`ve ever tried. I made it for my birthday. I wasn`t in lucky with chocolate cakes I`ve made, they usually turned out dry. This is moist, fudgy, rich and delicious. The perfect taste and the texture. I used strong brewed coffee instead of water and beat butter pieces into the chocolate by hand. I suggest that you use boiling water in the oven, because the cake may crack. Mine was ready after 30 min of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sammich
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Decreased sugar to 1/2 cup, used 18 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and only 5 eggs. I did take some shortcuts. First, I added the chocolate chips to the saucepan of water, sugar, and salt so that it would melt thoroughly with it. I through in all of the butter at one time and stirred a lot until it melted. Removed all of this from low heat, tempered my 5 eggs with a little of the batter thus far and then slowly poured in the egg while my cake beater was on constantly. I used a spring form pan with parchment paper at the bottom and greased entire surface with butter. I did not use a water bath during the baking process. I did get distracted and let the cake cook for 49 minutes rather than 45. Was worried that it would be overdone, but it wasn't! Topped with powdered sugar (that disappeared too quickly) and raspberries with a raspberry-whisky sauce on the side. Highly recommend this cake for all important birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and other days that end in the letter "y".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Used 8 inch pan, 70% chocolate Lindt bars, cooked it for 50 min. Refrigerated overnight. Placed on counter for 2 hours before serving. Used thin knife in very hot water. Also used prepared espresso coffee that was left in our French press for the water. It was delicious. 4.5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
The only problem I had with this recipe was that it doesn't specify that it must be SERVED chilled. I chilled the cake overnight, per the instructions, but left it out for about an hour before serving. It ended up being an absolute mess. I will say however with some re-sculpting and topped with fruit to hid the flaws, it tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delicious! Halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. It was really rich so I only served small slices - three of us only ate a quarter of the halved recipe! Served with whipped cream and a tart raspberry coulis which complemented the cake perfectly. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This tastes just like the flourless chocolate cake at Ruth's Chris (that they took off the menu, which is why I came looking for the recipe). I followed the recipe exactly, and got exactly what I was looking for. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States