Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yum! Delicious and pretty easy. Wish the directions had you prep the boiling water for the water bath beforehand - I had the cake all ready to go and then had to wait for water to boil. I only had a 9 inch cake pan, so used that and then filled two little ramekins as well. Still delicious if you don't chill overnight, but it will just be gooey and not cake-like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday and he asked for it to become the *only* birthday cake I ever make! It's very moist, and dense, and almost like a big truffle. I'm not a huge chocolate fan but this was perfect - not too sweet, and with a perfect texture. The best chocolate cake I've ever made, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Excellent. Follow what another poster said and substitute coffee for the water. Pure decadence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Oh my god. This is like a really dense fudge truffle cheesecake. You could probably use a melon baller to scoop this out and roll it in toppings to make truffles, actually. I made this exactly as is and served this with some black cherry sauce and Chambord-infused whipped cream. FYI - for dessert sauces, you can get real fruit and do all the hassle - I just grab whatever seedless jam/jelly I have in the fridge, and melt that down over the stove and then doctor up if needed. (Never hurts to add a little liquor) Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wow! I took this to a party and it was a definite hit! I topped it with a caramel sauce, but it would have been fine without as well. Try this, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is so absolutely delicious and decadent. I made the recipe exactly as stated, except I used a 10-inch springform pan wrapped in foil. It tastes so rich. I made sure my butter was at room temperature and I sat my eggs out to get close to room temperature as I made the cake. Really, really worth the price of the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe for everyone (even gluten-intolerant folks) to enjoy. It's rich, so it's best served along with a cup of coffee or hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
WOW!!! This was amazing. Because I'm on a health kick, I made it sugar free. I used 18 ounces Sugar Free semi-sweet chocolate chips & splenda. It's amazingly good, yet still incredibly rich, so literally a bite or two does it- a small piece goes a long way!! UPDATE: I've been sharing with friends, family & co-workers, many of which eat plenty of sugar and flour, all loved it and have begged for me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This cake was really, really good! It is very chocolaty and SUPER rich, so don't cut yourself a big slice, you will never be able to finish it. The texture is along the lines of a chocolate truffle. I served it to my husband and a couple of our friends and they all said it was excellent. I was even asked for the recipe. I only made one minor change to the recipe itself, which was using 18 oz. of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the bittersweet chocolate. I baked it in a spring form pan and didn't bother with the water bath. I also added the butter in all at once instead of one piece at a time. Make sure your butter is at room temperature before adding it to the melted chocolate. If it is cold the chocolate will seize. It is crucial to bake the cake a day before you plan to eat it. When it comes out of the oven the center is very jiggly and it needs plenty of time to set up in the fridge before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this cake so much, I baked it for my own wedding. I have also baked it for several family birthdays and most recently for a raffle (it brought in over $100!!!). I use Trader Joe's 72% dark chocolate. Every bite tastes like a truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States