Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've made a couple of times too and tweak and modify it now and then. Guests loved the taste of the one I made but dusted the pan with cinnamon (not cinnamon sugar). Other tweaks: a dash of cayenne mixed into the sugar; substitute vanilla with peppermint, almond, or hazelnut extract. I am making it without the cocoa for a moister cake this time...substituted dark chocolate bar - giving it a little extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This Recipe is fabulous! This is a must repeat! This dessert is rich, creamy, smooth, and decadent. Everyone at the party thoroughly enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Delicious, however, think of it as a truffle. It's as rich as a tiny truffle, so cutting yourself a cake-sized piece of truffle is WAY too rich. Everyone loved it and raved about it, but in the end, several could not finish their smallish piece of cake, even cutting it with whipped cream. This is not an entirely bad problem to have, however. I will make it again, but I will likely bake it in my mini cupcake pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I have been baking for about 30 years & I thought this was a good recipe. There is no need for a water bath. Put parchment paper sprayed with Pam in the bottom of a spring form pan. You really don't need to cut it to fit, but the edges with come out sort of scalloped. I used a bag of Nestor's chocolate chips @ about 3 ounces of bittersweet cocoa/oil, as I was out of chips. The only difficult thing about this recipe, is the need for extra hands/bowls. I left 6 eggs lightly beaten out on the counter while I made the other stuff and I microwaved the chocolate with no issues. It might help to use room temperature butter-because the hot sugar cools off a bit & might not melt your butter all the way through. I also substituted Kahlua for the water. I baked it for about 45 mins-perfect. It is very rich-the edges have an ever slight crisp while it's still warm & the whipped mouser texture as you bite into it. We are going to try it cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Delicious exactly as written. I've made it several times, sometimes with modifications (adding coffee or adding alcohol)--but the best is just as written. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This recipe is incredibly simple, but absolutely fantastic. I have baked and eaten other flourless chocolate cakes, but this one is the very best. I will be making this whenever I need a really special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is amazing! As a nineteen year old college student, i'm eager to learn to make new dishes/desserts but always seem to ruin them. I decided to make this for a 4th of july sit down dinner with my family. The only change I made was using chocolate chips (1 1/4 cups) because I didn't have the bars. Very easy, and quick! I actually chilled it in the fridge right after it was done for about 45 minutes before serving it even though it says to leave it overnight. It was AMAZING, and had a more lighter mouse taste. My family all kept going "Wow!" with every bite. After chilling it overnight it had the very dense flourless chocolate cake taste I love. I'm not gluten allergic, but this is an amazing dessert that I actually prefer to regular chocolate cake. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was a home run for me. Decadent & delicious. People thought it came from a restaurant! Served it with fresh berries & whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly using Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate and liked it warm but refrigerated it overnight and served it with homemade coconut icecream yum! Have made it twice and would make this decadently rich cake again. Was very nice with the icecream but served it with strawberries and it worked well too. Its so rich it needs to be served with something to cut the heavy rich flavor fruit or icecream worked in my experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is amazing, regardless of it being gluten free. This will be my birthday cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WordsWorth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States