Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe. I recently made a dairy-free version with margarine instead of butter, and it was (almost) just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have a friend who has Celiac's disease. Her birthday just came about and I wanted to do something special for her, so I decided to make her a birthday cake. I can't afford to get alternative, gluten free flours, so I decided that I would make a flourless chocolate cake. Upon scour the internet for recipes, I found this one and many like it. While the averages to most of them were high, all the reviews were consistently mixed and complaining of too much chocolate flavor and a problem with dryness. Noting that, I decided to use this recipe but alter it some. I cut the amount of chocolate down to 8oz and used a mixture of both dark chocolate and semisweet chocolate. I also added 1 cup of cherry cola to give the cake some lightness and moisture from the carbonation as well as a complimentary flavor for the chocolate. This was all an experiment so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. In fact, the soupy texture of the batter had me freaking out for a moment. I ended up with two cakes out of the mix and baked them both for about an hour at 325 instead of 300. I haven't tasted the final product yet as I am saving them to enjoy with my friend, but they came out light, springy, and absolutely gorgeous. The batter tasted great so I imagine they do too. So, for being a good base recipe I give this 3 stars. However, as my experimentation points out, this could be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I went to a little Bistro last night and ordered one of these, and it was great, and so today I decided to try to make it. Oh. My. Gosh. It was like a party in my mouth. It was so good I almost cried. I followed the recipe exactly like it was, and holy cow. That's all I can say. Ho-ly Cow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is eyes roll back in your head good. It is rich so a small piece is enough. It tastes very gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Awesome gluten free chocolate cake. I made this cake for family that was visiting. Changes: - I used 70% dark chocolate - 1 cup margarine (because it was all i had on hand) - Instead of 6 eggs, I used 4 whole eggs (beat into the batter as the recipe indicates) and then whisked 2 egg whites and folded into the batter. No eggy taste to the cake. - I lined the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and that made it very easy to remove the cake from the pan once baked. (Didn't have to soak the bottom in warm water) - Instead of wrapping the pan and placing it in a water bath. I placed the cake in the oven and on a rack right beneath it, i filled a deep large baking sheet with boiling water. - I also didn't cool over night, I just placed it in the fridge for 4 hours or so and served. Great chocolate cake and like most of the previous reviews said, you can't really eat a lot of it so it will serve many people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I experimented with this recipe for a group where one member needed a gluten-free dessert. Also found it needed to be dairy free and soy free! Well, I tried it and had good reviews. I used 1 Cup of earth balance buttery spread(no soy)for the butter. Everyone loved this cake. I will make it again soon using the regular butter for a birthday cake since you can make it ahead and keep in the 'fridge. Used the strawberry sauce from this site that others suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yulia dinata
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Taste delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yulia dinata
Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I made this exactly as directed and it came out perfect. It is very rich so slice it on the thin side. I served it with fresh raspberry puree and whipped cream. This is best served slightly chilled but not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Excellent!! Make exactly and added 1T. instant espresso to the sugar/water mixture. So rich and decadent! Easy too!! Try it! You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. Too much of an egg taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States