Flourless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This cake is SO EASY! I've made three of them in the span of one week. I brought one to Passover and two to my husband's pHd defense. The professors LOVED it (including one with celiacs) and everyone wanted the recipe. Don't change a thing. I do have to mention that when I can't find bittersweet chocolate, I use semi-sweet and cut down the sugar a bit. I did the first one with semi-sweet without altering the sugar and it was still great, but some of the adults were a little overwhelmed by the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am SO happy I found this! I've been searching for a non-complicated and truly flourLESS chocolate cake for a long time. WHOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Dense, dark chocolate was soft and moist. An edit: Instead of water for the syrup, I used strong coffee with a tsp of vanilla extract. It didn't impart a coffee flavor to the cake, just enhanced the chocolatey taste. Because the cake is SO dark and rich, it really needs something creamy to serve with it, and some acid to cut the richness. I decided to top my cake with whipped cream and balsamic-macerated strawberries. (Toss cut, fresh strawberries with 1/3 cup of sugar and a healthy splash of balsamic vinegar. Allow to macerate for an hour. Pour 4oz of heavy cream in a stand mixer and whip until soft peaks form. Add macerated strawberries & their juices. Finish whipping cream until stiff peaks form. You can either spread the whipped topping over the cake itself & decorate with thin slivers of strawberry, or simply serve it on the side. Tasty either way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written. I tried this because it looked good in the picture and because of all the great reviews. The chocolate was expensive but i thought it would be worth it. It turned out bitter and just didnt taste right. It did indeed look exactly like picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Just made this recipe for the third time, and, as always, we LOVED it! This time though I used coconut oil in place of the butter due to my daughter's casein sensitivities. Was a little worried I'd ruin it but it was even better than I imagined! Not sure it it was the coconut or the type of chocolate I used but it was creamier/smoother than the other times I've made it. So amazing! There was a slight coconut taste but I used virgin coconut oil instead of refined. Using refined should eliminate that. It actually was a wonderful flavor combo anyway. Needless to say, my daughter devoured it and was very thankful for the tweak so she could enjoy it with us. I highly recommend this recipe for those who have allergies or know someone who does. It's an easy way to make someone feel special with this amazing recipe! Thanks for sharing it with us Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn T.
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good - everyone at my church and work loved it! I used xylitol instead of sugar and did not use water bath as I didn't have anything big enough. Also used 10" springform pan which made it easy to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I baked this cake for my daughter's birthday, so that her gluten sensitive husband could enjoy the birthday cake. It was amazing. It is exactly like the expensive Chocolate desserts I've often had in upscale restaurants. I followed the directions exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Served with vanilla ice cream, it was a decadent, melt in your mouth splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love this cake. I followed another reviewer's advice and used three eggs and three egg whites, and I also added in a bit of mint. It turned out to be absolutely delicious. I had a bit of trouble getting it out of the pan after it had set overnight, and once I did get it out, the bottom had melted a little bit. Fortunately I had taken it out of the pan with enough time before I needed to serve it, so I just smoothed out the top and put it back in the fridge. It stiffened right up again, so no serious issues there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This cake tasted just like it came from an expensive restaurant. I used Ghiradelli chocolate and made it exactly as the recipe said. I did use a springform pan and wrapped the bottom in two layers of foil to keep water out. The only problem with the springform pan is that water leaks onto the cake when trying to loosen it in order to invert onto a serving plate. Then I unfortunately cracked the cake getting it off the pan. Next time I will use parchment paper to line the bottom of the springform pan to make removal easier. I decorated the cake with a stencil of a heart outlined with sifted cocoa. Served it with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Did anyone try this with splenda? I'm looking for a chocolate gluten free and sugar free cake. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States