Flounder Mediterranean Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I followed the advice of other reviewers & cooked the flounder filets seperately (also, there's one person in our house who will only eat plain flounder) and added the sauce to the plate. I also used only half the amount of capers called for (I thought 4 Tbs woulkd be too much), a can of petite diced tomatoes(drained) and I couldn't get fresh basil so I used dried. The dish came out so good, I was very close to making the same thing for dinner again the next night. We had it with Jasmine rice, steamed summer squash & fresh Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I made this recipe for a dinner party, and it was a huge hit. I put everything together before hand, and I popped it in the oven while everyone was having appetizers. Everyone raved about it. The only problem was that I didn't have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This recipe is soooo good. I used Talapia as I like no bones or skin. My husband and I both couldn't get enough of the topping. Don't be scared by the first reviewer, this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I prepared the sauce exactly as directed and it was delicious! This fish didn't cook so well in the oven with the sauce on top however. I, too, recommend cooking the fish (little salt, pepper, lemon) then adding the sauce afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I can't believe I haven't already rated this one. I've been making this one for awhile and I always LOVE it. I typically don't use flounder, but instead use orange roughy, just because that's usually what I have on hand. I love topping this with a bit of feta cheese as I put in on my plate. It just adds to the whole Mediterranen feel. I love this one. Our family is divided, though. My husband is not an olive fan (and there is no way I'm skimping on those yummy kalamatas), and my youngest son is sort of picky, but my oldest son and I LOVE it. I think it would make a great sauce for pasta also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
The fish came out like mush... If I made this again I would make the fish seperately and use the rest as a sauce over the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I loved this recipe!! I did change three things though- I used regular onion, a lot fewer Kalamata olives (I was afraid it would make it too salty), maybe half what it says- and fewer capers (about 2 Tbsp)- again afraid of the salt. Fish is so good for you but sometimes not the best tasting- this made it taste GREAT. I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I am an average cook who likes easy recipes. This was perfect! I used Tilapia and diced canned tomatoes. Directions were perfect, fish turned out flaky and sauce was not too heavy and tasted very fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Delicious and flexible recipe. I used with cod, a little thicker so had to cook longer, naturally. I threw about a cup of fresh baby spinach into the sauce that I needed to use up and that worked just fine. I sprinkled a little goat cheese on top for the last 5 minutes of baking, served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
If you like the savory zip of kalmata and capers this is a great dish! My husband, who is not a fish fan, really enjoyed this. I used talapia instead of flounder, a can of diced tomatoes instead of blanching and peeling fresh ones, and about a tablespoon of dried oregano instead of the fresh. Served with steamed broccoli and buttered new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States