Florns' Chinese Steamed Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Delicious. I skipped the tomatoes but the ginger aroma was heavenly. Very easy to make, i'll definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Excellent dish, VERY easy and VERY tasty! Thanks Charsiew! Reminded me of my childhood fish dishes, and my husband and family (who are not Chinese) absolutely loved it too. One note: make sure you cook this in a dish that can catch all the delicious sauce (i.e. not a steamer with holes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
very good flavor, the only thing I changed was baking for 35 at 350 degrees my steamer was not big enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
It does not say this in the recipe, but make sure that you put the sauce over the veggies, because otherwise the tomatoes and mushrooms are totally tasteless. The fish turned out and was good, but it was not spectacular. Then again, my husband and I have had lots of amazing, authentic Chinese fish dishes, so we are probably too spoiled. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Great base recipe! I substituted things for what I had on hand (ground ginger instead of fresh, crimini mushrooms, and ~1/2 tsp. of fresh chili paste instead of the diced red chili). I also used more like 2Tbs of soy sauce istead of 1, and threw in juice of 1/2 lime. Huge hit! I chopped mushrooms and spread them out in a 9x13 pan with cauliflower florets (just to add more veggies) and lay the snapper over the top of them. Topped seasoned fish with diced tomato, and poured soy/sesame oil/lime juice/chili paste mixture over the top. 400 for 15 minutes. Sprinkled with the cilantro after. Delicious! Best white fish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This is wonderful!! My family does not care for fish and they actually had seconds. I do not have a steamer so I put it in a covered glass dish and microwaved it till it was done. We loved the ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Another healthful Chinese dish. I liked the liquids imparted from cooking of the tomatoes, fish and soy sauce. It was a good way to mix it up with rice. The mushrooms were the best part, providing great texture and an earthy taste. A versatile recipe to use with other types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Awesome! Very flavorful, very quick. So little prep time. I was able to get dinner on the table with this dish, rice, and edamame in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Wonderful! Also steamed some baby bok choy along with this to make a delicious meal. We make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States