Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wonderful muffin recipe and a great way to use up strawberries! I used 2 cups of strawberries that I tossed with 2 Tbsp. of sugar and just let them set while I made the batter. For the batter I used 1/2 cup of butter and 3/4 cup of white sugar that I creamed together until light and fluffy then added the eggs and 2 tsp. of vanilla. I also used added 1/2 tsp. of baking powder along with the baking soda and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon with the nutmeg. I made these into 6 Texas sized muffins and topped them with turbinado sugar for some extra crunch on top. I baked them at 400 for 25 minutes. They were so moist and full of flavor - I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These are great muffins--a super way to use up strawberries. I added one large mashed banana, an extra 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar to cream w/ the butter instead of the 1/4 c of white. Moist, delicious, and not too sweet. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
The flavor of this is great. The nutmeg really makes it good. The only problem I found is that I thought the batter was really thick and I wasn't sure if the muffins would turn out. I decided to bake it in a 9 x 13 bread pan instead. I cooked it at 350 for 35 minues. It turned our really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Good muffins. Baking 18 minutes was plenty long for mine. Next time I would check them sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very good as written, even better if you add about 1/4 cup chocolate chips with the chopped strawberries. Use 1/4 cup batter per muffin makes 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
My family absolutely loves strawberries so we comsume lots of them!!! We hate to see the season end because that means the strawberries go! So, we pick lots and lots and then freeze them. I'm always looking for more ideas as to how to use these wonderful berries and this recipe is absolutely fantastic! The muffins turned out so moist and deliicious! The flavor is magnificent!! Thank you Mary for submitting such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corunna, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I changed it by adding 2 cups of strawberries, 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Also, when draining the luquid from the strawberries, I found there was not very much. So when I added it, it was rather difficult to mix...very thick. So I added a little water to the strawberries and kept drainig them and then adding water again until I got a more 'scoopable' consistancy. They turned out well and not too sweet. I really liked them! I give them 5 even with the extra effort I had to put into making them because they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYTEKMULTISYNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I made these muffins this week, and we liked them quite a bit. I added an extra 1/2 cup of strawberries (I used flavourful organic berries) as some of the other reviewers recommended, and doubled the amount of nutmeg for a little extra flavour. They turned out moist and yummy - would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
These were good. Not sweet enough for me. Very mellow strawberry flavour. I would like them to have more strawberry flavour. Perhaps a blob of strawberry jam in the middle would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I doubled it and put it in mini muffin pans, baked it for 10 min. My kids and husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States