Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
They came out pretty good. A bit dryer than I would like but I made them for family visiting from up north and they thought the muffins were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
DELICIOUS! I made these over the weekend after buying 2 pounds of strawberries on sale and in season. This muffins really had a nice strawberry flavor, were not too sweet but sweet enough. i did use half splenda /half sugar as well as half whole wheat flour mixed with the white. I love the way the juice of the berry makes for most of your liquid (make sure they are very fresh and ripe). I will be making these again, would probably make a nice cake too with a sweet crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These came out great. I had a bunch of much too ripe strawberries and using them in this recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinginholland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We thought the muffins were pretty good. However, the taste of nutmeg really overpowered the muffin. So, the next time I make these muffins I'll only use half of the called for amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very good. Accidentally melted butter instead of softening, but it still worked. Used just 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Watch at the end - mine got a little overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great muffins. I replaced 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat and added 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Very tasty! I made them just as directed, but I used about 1 3/4 C chopped strawberries, and they're just coming into season, so they were sooooooooo juicy! I had no problems with a dry batter at all (lots of juice!), and the cupcakes were very moist. I only made 6 for now, and I put the other 6 into muffin liners in the freezer so I can make one whenever I want. Before baking, a did sprinkle some raw/turbinado sugar onto the tops of them so they would get that delicious crispy top. A great way to use up some super ripe strawberries that are on their last leg or an abundance of fresh berries, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made this recipe a few times and I found the key to getting the strawberry juice is to chop the strawberries very small (about 1/2 inch pieces) and leave them someplace dark and covered for half hour. I also added about 1/3 cup water, 8 oz mini chocolate chips and a large spoon of raspberry preserves, and baked for 13 minutes. The last time I made them it was so good it hurt ... and then I had to have another!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't think these were very good. Not a big hit with my family. Kind of bland tasting. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
These were okay at best, but not worth making again. I'd also say they are best for same-day eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States