Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are very good, even better when warmed and butter added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made half of this recipe using one full cup of chopped strawberries. As another reviewer suggested, I doubled the butter and added 1/4 t. baking powder (for my 1/2 recipe). I also skipped the nutmeg as a personal preference. These smelled heavenly while they were baking. The only real problem I have with this recipe is the oven temp and baking time. I lowered my temp to 400 and baked these for about 20 minutes, which was too long, even at the lower temperature. I can’t imagine what they would have been like if I had baked them at 425, hence only 4 stars, but I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Good, moist muffin. Followed recipe exactly. I think putting turbinado sugar on top before baking would send these over the top. I also will use clear vanilla next time to make a prettier muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These are great! Not too sweet but not bland at all. I didn't let the strawberries sit for the full hour but still ended up with quite a bit of liquid. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I followed the directions exactly as stated and they turned out great. I added just a little turbinado sugar to the tops before baking (which I do for most muffins) and it adds a little crunch. I was surprised at how much liquid the strawberries leached out when sitting for an hour in the sugar. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I followed Jillian's suggestion with upping sugar and butter and cinnamon, and also added almond extract. I used 3cups fresh strawberries and they were extra fruity and husband loved them. I did as big muffins in paper lined muffin pan, but it's so cakey I would do in pan to serve as a cake for a dessert. Definitely a keeper,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These were good muffins. I liked the unique taste of the nutmeg with the strawberries. I added a little yogurt into the batter to make the muffins extra moist since my strawberries weren't extremely ripe. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
most moist strawberry muffin i have ever made! Added extra strawberries and put diced on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I think I am giving up on finding a decent strawberry muffin recipe. I think I have tried most of them on this site, and none of them have been good. I had a very hard time getting the batter to come together for these muffins. And, although, I am a huge nutmeg fan, I did not think the spice worked well in these at all. On a good note, these are beautiful muffins, nicely domed, with the berries oozing out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Muffins looked pretty. Topped off w/ cinnamon streusel. Used lots of fresh strawberries which made the inside very wet and mushy. The muffins that had more batter than strawberries seemed moist yet still harsh down my throat. Others raved that these were good, but I think they were talking about the top of the muffin w/ streusel. I'm off to try a different recipe and to get a muffin top pan! My DD loves muffin tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States