Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Luscious strawberry muffins!!! So easy to prepare and quick to make. I only made two changes - adding more strawberries and a little more sugar to the fruit reserve. The batter smelled lovely!!!! The muffins were moist, not too rich, just the right sweetness...I've got a new favorite baked good to make for gifts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These were a great way to use some extra strawberries. The only changes I made was to use 2C of strawberries and after letting them sit aside on the counter for 1 hour, I put them into the fridge overnight bc I didn't have enough time that evening. That seemed to take care of the issue of not having enough liquid that some reviewers mentioned. I also only needed to bake these for 12 minutes. These were great and plenty sweet for our taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I completely changed this up, solely based on the fact that I was a) missing some ingredients, b) wanted to make the healthier and c) was impatient. I halved the flour with ww flour, used 1/4c plain yogurt and 1/4 c skim milk ricotta in place of the butter and didn't wait for the berries to macerate for more than 15 minutes (had very little liquid). oh, and I added half a banana as I was just shy of 1.5 cups of berries. totally changed, I realized, but really delicious. you don't miss the butter one bit (I swear!). the muffins are moist, fluffed up nicely and have just enough sweetness (think the banana helped) for a morning treat. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
At first I thought I did something wrong... before I added in the juice and berries, the mixture was so dry i could pick it up in my hands just like pie crust would be (a thick dough.) I mixed in the berries and juice but it was hard to mix it well because of the dough thickness it did not get fully mixed. Baked them and they were fine, but not as sweet as i'd like. Going to try addind in chocolate chips next time and melting the butter instead of just softening it. Also, had to use a mixer for the eggs sugar and butter because it would only mix in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathat52

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sydnie
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
They are no doubt some of the prettiest muffins I've made, and they are tasty. However, I took a bite of the dough by itself (without a piece of strawberry) and found it was pretty bland. With the strawberries though, it's a very yummy little muffin =] Next time I would add more strawberries, definately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I didn't get very much water out of my strawberries & I was afraid that the batter would be really dry so I mixed in some light sour cream & skim milk with the sugar water. I also make a homemade pumpkin pie spice mix that I used for the nutmeg adding more than 1/4 t. They are good & baked up really pretty. I only made 9 so they are huge. They were brown on the outside, but I was afraid still underdone in the middle, so I turned off the oven and left them in a few additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Nice muffin recipe. Very sweet, with a nice crisp crust. Flavorful, but a bit on the 'dry' side, not as moist as I would have liked. A guideline as to how much strawberry syrup should be yielded would be helpful, as I would imagine there would be some variation each and every time. Mine yielded about 3/4 cup of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I think this is a great recipe, with just a few little tweaks needed. As others have mentioned, these muffins were done in 15 min, and they probably should have gone more like 13-14 min. Also, the batter is really thick so I added a little milk (2-3T) to thin it out just a tad. My final recommendation would be to double the recipe and really load the muffin tin until it's full. The muffins I made this morning came out a little flat/small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These are so delicious! My strawberries did not produce much juice, so I added just a bit of milk. The batter is really thick and they only took 17 minutes, be sure you check them before 18 minutes or they may over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made these and thought they were pretty yummy, but only after they sat for a day. Something about the warm muffin right out of the oven made the strawberries taste strange. The flavor was much better the second day. I did use 2 cups of strawberries, and also warmed up some strawberry preserves and added it to the berry juice to stir into the batter. This gave the muffins a lot more stawberry flavor and added extra sweetness. Next time I make these I will consider adding a cream cheese mixture, or simply a dollup of strawberry filling into each muffin before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abickman1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States