Florida Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Nice muffin recipe. Very sweet, with a nice crisp crust. Flavorful, but a bit on the 'dry' side, not as moist as I would have liked. A guideline as to how much strawberry syrup should be yielded would be helpful, as I would imagine there would be some variation each and every time. Mine yielded about 3/4 cup of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I think this is a great recipe, with just a few little tweaks needed. As others have mentioned, these muffins were done in 15 min, and they probably should have gone more like 13-14 min. Also, the batter is really thick so I added a little milk (2-3T) to thin it out just a tad. My final recommendation would be to double the recipe and really load the muffin tin until it's full. The muffins I made this morning came out a little flat/small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These are so delicious! My strawberries did not produce much juice, so I added just a bit of milk. The batter is really thick and they only took 17 minutes, be sure you check them before 18 minutes or they may over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made these and thought they were pretty yummy, but only after they sat for a day. Something about the warm muffin right out of the oven made the strawberries taste strange. The flavor was much better the second day. I did use 2 cups of strawberries, and also warmed up some strawberry preserves and added it to the berry juice to stir into the batter. This gave the muffins a lot more stawberry flavor and added extra sweetness. Next time I make these I will consider adding a cream cheese mixture, or simply a dollup of strawberry filling into each muffin before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abickman1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
My family loved them! giving it a 4 only because i made alterations! i almost never make a recipe exactly as is. i didn't have nutmeg so i used cinnamon and i even added a pinch of allspice. i like adding oats to my muffins as well but i only had packaged instant oatmeal - added that in too. i also used sub'd some brown sugar instead of all white in the mix. Finally, I found 15 minutes was plenty of time in my oven. I'll make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These muffins were AWESOME! Great way to use up strawberries and they have a WONDERFUL strawberry flavor. I added more strawberries than was called for just because I needed to use them all up and I think I wound up with about a 1/2 cup strawberry juice. Also, I think I might not have cut my strawberries small enough (or maybe I didn't cook my muffins long enough) as there was still a little dough around the bits of strawberry. I can't wait to experiment with this recipe some-I think next time I might brown the butter and use brown sugar and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southlake, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This made 12 PERFECT muffins. I was amazed at how much liquid came off the chopped berries but very happy with the results. These muffins are light and fluffy and delicious. Followed the recipe except for the baking time. Mine were done after 15 minutes! Will gladly add this to my recipe file and look forward to the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
good muffins, nice way to use strawberries before they spoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I didn't have enough strawberries so added a mashed banana. I also added half a teaspoon of baking powder and a dollop of sour cream to help it rise more. Came out light and fluffy, can't wait to try this recipe again when strawberry season arrives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I actually would give this 4 1/2 stars. They were rather good. Moist. I followed the recipe exactly. Only thing different was that I added some cinnamon sugar on top before baking. The strawberries tasted good with the muffins. Would recommend this recipe ... but would suggest not using any liners as the muffin does stick a bit to the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States