Florida Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Nice flavor, but it turned out dry and not-so-tender. Most of my other sweet bread recipes call for more sugar; next time, I will try increasing the sugar to 1 1/4 or 1 1/3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had some frozen strawberries that were begging to be used in something so I made this recipe this afternoon, except that I halved it for 12-muffins, baked at 350 for 30 min. The batter is the consistency of cookie dough so it was very thick and difficult to blend. The amount of oil was staggering (IMHO), so I scaled it to 1/4 c. oil & 1/4 c. applesauce. End result was a decent-tasting muffin, especially when eaten hot w/ melty butter (albeit a bit dense and an unusual texture that I couldn't quite put my finger on, possibly due to the berries being of the frozen variety?) so I'm not too sure that I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I used 1/2 all purpose flour and then 1/2 whole wheat flour. There was a ton of oil in this recipe. I thought it would have been a little less crumbly. It was a little dry too, but still good. My husband put ice cream on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I scaled the recipe down in half and substituted the oil for about 3/4 cup of applesauce. I had some frozen strawberries and blackberries that I threw in there. I also added some nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon to the dry mix. Thought it tasted great and was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe but my breads came out very dense and the flavor was not there. I used fresh strawberries, perhaps that was the problem...Too disappointing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was a good use of some fresh strawberries I cut up & mixed w/sugar this summer! It was a nice alternative to banana or zucchini bread & my boys liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was excellent - and I don't care for bread!!! I had left over strawberries I didn't know what to do with... I used a basket of fresh strawberries. I decreased the oil by 1/4 cup but added about that much water to keep it moist and make it easier to fold. I also used pecans because I prefer those to walnuts. And after I put the batter in the loaf pans, I sprinkled cinnamon sugar. The bread came out beautiful - brown and crispy on the outside and soft and moist on the inside. I loved it and it's my new "regular" bread for my kids' snacks and gifts for the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is an amazing, unique bread! People said there was too much oil, so I substituted some of it for milk and water. I also tasted the batter and decided it was not sweet enough, so I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar. It was absolutely wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
made them awhile ago. Don't really like it that much coz I'm not a fan of strawberries but my 2 little girls luv them. They said it's yummy! Maybe it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I used fresh strawberries that were sprinkled with a little bit of sugar. I made little loaves and gave it away and everyone thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States