Florida Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
On our last vacation to Florida, my husband and I tried Key Lime Pie at almost every restaurant we went to. I made this last night as a special treat. While it wasn't as good as our favorite in Florida, it was still great. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk. I, also, used bottled key lime juice, so I did not have any zest. I did not make the topping. I used whipped topping as others have done. This was so simple to make. Next time, I may try low fat or fat free cream cheese and make my own graham cracker crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
The BEST! My boyfriend LOVED it! It was great frozen too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I can't believe I made something that tastes this amazing! I am a key lime pie aficianado, and this way the best I've ever had. And not too sweet! Very tart and delicious. I'm not sure what others are finding too sweet- it was PERFECT and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I made this for my husband as he loves key lime pie. It was fairly easy except it took a while to juice the limes - that's the reason for the 4 stars. I had to use regular limes as key limes are not easy to find in my area. It turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My husband calls me sugar-addict but even for me this pie was too sweet! I like Key Lime pie and usually I have it at restaurants but I'd never tried to make it by myself. This was the first time for me to make Key Lime pie so I was looking for a recipe which seemed very good. I tried this recipe because this has cream cheese which I like. I found a recipe which has sour cream, or doesn't have either. I still don't know which one is the genuine Key Lime pie recipe... But at least I knew every recipe has condensed milk which probably makes the pie very sweet. I wonder what happens if I use half condensed milk and half evaporated milk. Anyways, overall the taste was not very bad but it was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Being a native Floridian, this really is the best I've had in a very, very long time. The only change I made was that I added a topping made from mixing cream cheese, cool whip and a little sugar. I spread this on after I let the pie chill overnight, just before serving. It was awesome. Reminded me of a key lime pie I had in Cedar Key once. Very good recipe...thanks for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Paradise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
i thought this was excellent. i followed the recipe almost exactly - i only added extra lime juice and zest because i LOVE the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This alleged "dessert" is quite possibly the most dissapointing thing to come from my kitchen. The consistancy was that of old milk and it tasted of rancid potatoe salad with a bit of a lime zing. Long story short, it was bad.... REALLY BAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I like this pie... I also like soy sauce... But let me warn you, the two don't go well together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
this is so good, a tiny bit too sweet, still loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States