Florentine Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this soup and thought it was great! I also cut down on the spinach and used the chicken broth instead of the water. My husband loves it so much we can't keep it in the house. I have tried doubling the recipe and now I am going to try quadrupling the recipe so I can have some the next day. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Good base recipe, but definitely needed some extra kick with seasonings. Instead of bouillon and water, i added a can of reduced sodium chicken broth, then a 16oz container of frozen homemade chicken broth with onions and garlic. I also added a 6oz can of tomato paste to equal out the thickness of it, extra fresh cracked pepper, italian seasoning and extra minced garlic. Came out much more flavorful. Served with shaved Parmesan cheese and a dash of cracked pepper as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This taste amazing, but as others have said there was not enough liquid and lots of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this exactly as-is, and it was shockingly good considering how quick, easy, healthy and cheap it is. Wow! It is definitely more stew-y than soupy, but I'm okay with that - you can easily reduce the spinach if you'd like. It is very good leftover. I couldn't believe how much flavor there was in such a simple concoction. Top off with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese! Nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
this is the same recipe as in the taste of home cookbook. exact to the "t" first let me start off my stating the chicken broth ratio is way off. i had to have a least added 5 more cups to the pot and it was still wayyyyy to thick. i started off with 2 cups and it left my pot with maybe an inch of broth. the flavor is good. i of course 3X the garlic and added extra dried basil. i use petite diced toms and they were good. i also added maybe about a 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream then the taste was right on. be prepared to add lots of extra broth. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
not sure how this is supposed to be 5 servings.....but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This is good with a hand full of parmesan or romano cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was really good. It was more of a "stoup," but I still thought it was good enough to make again. It's healthy and filling. I didn't have fresh basil so I used dry, mediterranean basil and cut the spinach down some. I also added some red pepper I had just to use it up and it was a great addition. I think you could probably add whatever you want. Next time I might add some mushrooms or zucchini. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginnerchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I JUST finished making this...and even the kids loved it! The aroma is sensational as it is simmering, made my mouth water in anticipation... Instead of using water and bouillon cubes...I used chicken broth and I added mushrooms when I was sauteeing the onion/bell pepper/garlic. Heavenly! I love this and will be making it again. Next time I will double it, as it was such a hit! P.S. I did NOT drain my tomatoes before adding them, the liquid added extra flavor to the dish...and I used the amount of spinach the recipe calls for. I found it a quite nice consistency for a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Jynx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I don't care to use the bouillon cubes/granules because of the sodium, so I added some vegetable stock instead of the granules and water..Sprinkle w/ grated parmesean cheese right before serving...Also good with adding some thin sliced fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States