Florentine Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great example to illustrate how using the very best ingredients will yield the very best results - fresh tomato sauce if available, (in my case I used tomato sauce I had put up from my garden), chicken broth rather than chicken bouillon and water, and fresh baby spinach (considerably less than the 10 ozs. called for). I also added the fresh basil last, NOT cooking it in the simmering stage for 10 minutes. As written this is a 3-star recipe, but with these simple changes it is a 5-star soup, one that Hubs compares to a memorable soup we enjoyed at "Purple Cafe and Wine Bar," in downtown Seattle. (Rating this 3 stars might have discouraged others from trying this easily improved soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I don't care to use the bouillon cubes/granules because of the sodium, so I added some vegetable stock instead of the granules and water..Sprinkle w/ grated parmesean cheese right before serving...Also good with adding some thin sliced fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Really good and flavorful. I think there is TOO MUCH spinach in the recipe as it stands. My recommendation is HALF of a box instead of a whole, maybe even less. A great source of vitamins, good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I loved this! I followed the recipe exactly, and unlike most other reviewers found the amount of spinach to be just fine, but I'm a big spinach fan anyway. Overall, very flavorful and filling, something I'll absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I JUST finished making this...and even the kids loved it! The aroma is sensational as it is simmering, made my mouth water in anticipation... Instead of using water and bouillon cubes...I used chicken broth and I added mushrooms when I was sauteeing the onion/bell pepper/garlic. Heavenly! I love this and will be making it again. Next time I will double it, as it was such a hit! P.S. I did NOT drain my tomatoes before adding them, the liquid added extra flavor to the dish...and I used the amount of spinach the recipe calls for. I found it a quite nice consistency for a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Jynx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This was close to a soup we had at a 5 star hotel. All it needed was soom cooked pasta shells and it would be identical. AWSOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Unknown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Original recipe a bit bland. Added 1 cup of red wine, 1 tbs Worchester & 1 tsp mixed salts. Simmered for 20 min or so, Bingo! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I had to make a substitution for the green peppers since I didn't have any, and instead used a small can of chopped green chilies which gave it some kick! Tasted great, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Capac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
WAY to much spinach - not enough liquid. Nobody believed it was a soup - it was more like a spinach veggie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is a wonderful soup! Half the package of spinach is the right amount for me. It tastes great with about half a pound of cooked pasta shells too. Very tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States