Floating Island Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I use this all the time for parties. Everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
very good! i couldn't find orange sherbet in a pint size so i substituted mango sorbet and it was still tasty. everyone at the shower loved it and it was the perfect color to go with a 'little pumpkins' baby shower! i'm forwarding the link to 2 of the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Yummy - this is going to be my new punch receipe. It was so good - I made two batches for a birthday party and still didn't have a drop left. Adults and kids loved it. I made the receipe at written, but can't wait to try it with fruit punch and rasberry sherbet too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I have made this a few times and it is always delicious. The first time I used the sugar syrup and it was pretty sweet but not inedible. The next few times I left out the syrup and thought it was more refreshing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Was a big hit at a recent baby shower -- everyone wanted the recipe. However, I did notice I wasnt successful in making the sugar water a "syrup." It never did thicken (is it really supposed to?). And, as others have noted, they leave this step out b/c it is very sweet. One thing I did note, I only made one small batch of the sugar mix, and I doubled all the rest of the items, and the single batch of sugar mix was plenty for both batches I made of the punch. I am making it again tomorrow, and will also leave it out like others noted, as all the other ingredients make the punch sweet. Also, I made the mistake in getting just a can of cherries in water, and didnt notice "marchino" cherries were on the actual recipe....and the other cherries were smooshy while floating in the punch -- really looked like dark red blobs! not very pretty. Will purchase the right cherries next time. Overall, very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Made this punch for a bridal shower recently and, as recommended by some, omitted the addition of the sugar syrup. The punch was excellent and really did not need the addition of the syrup! I've received so many compliments and requests for this recipe that I now carry additional copies of it with me! Highly recommend and will definitely be making this again and again for other parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe called for my daughter's 2nd birthday party and I along with everyone else loved it. We did not think it was too sweet at all...it's punch and it's supposed to be sweet!! It reminded me of one of those orange sherbert push-up pops. Thanks for the recipe! I will definately make again, especially with warm weather on the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Excellent punch! Made this yesterday for my daughter's 1st birthday party. Needed a pink punch, so my changes were perfect. Kept just about everything the same, but made a few good changes based on all the reviews posted about it being too sweet. These are the changes I made: TOTALLY omitted the sugar water syrup...definitely not needed. Used a 2 liter bottle of Raspberry Ginger Ale instead of the regular ginger ale and carbonated water. The ginger ale taste, not Sprite, is the key. Used 1 can of frozen fruit punch instead of the orange juice, used pink lemonade instead of regular lemonade, used raspberry sherbet instead of orange. To mix - Add the cans of frozen concentrate to your punch bowl, pour in the raspberry ginger ale, stir until dissolved, pour in the cherry juice and cherries making sure to leave out enough cherries to place on top of each orange slice. Add the ice, stir, add the raspberry sherbet in scoops. Stir. Place the oranges on top and put a cherry in the middle of each orange slice. Delicious! Still somewhat of a sweet punch, but the taste was fabulous. Got many, many compliments and people were asking how I made it. This recipe is definitely a keeper that I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Awesome recipe! I had to organize the Valentine's party at work and this punch was a huge hit! I did substitute the orange concentrate with fruit punch, used raspberry sherbet, halved the sugar and used sprite in place of the carbonated water. It was a pretty pink colour for Valentines day and I have handed out the recipe many times over already. Thank you for sharing Kathy!! I will be using this for all our work parties and trying different flavours and sherbets according to the particular theme, perhaps even adding some food colouring for St.Patricks and lemon lime sherbet..mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States