Floating Island Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
As the original recipe, I give it 3 stars.... the way I made it, I would give it 5. Here were my modifications: Instead of orange juice and lemonade, I substituted pink lemonade and wild berry concentrates, only used 1/2 pint of sherbet, and added the carbonated things LAST so the sherbet wouldn't cut out the carbonation! I used this for a baby shower and it was a HUUUUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attitash, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Excellent punch! Made this yesterday for my daughter's 1st birthday party. Needed a pink punch, so my changes were perfect. Kept just about everything the same, but made a few good changes based on all the reviews posted about it being too sweet. These are the changes I made: TOTALLY omitted the sugar water syrup...definitely not needed. Used a 2 liter bottle of Raspberry Ginger Ale instead of the regular ginger ale and carbonated water. The ginger ale taste, not Sprite, is the key. Used 1 can of frozen fruit punch instead of the orange juice, used pink lemonade instead of regular lemonade, used raspberry sherbet instead of orange. To mix - Add the cans of frozen concentrate to your punch bowl, pour in the raspberry ginger ale, stir until dissolved, pour in the cherry juice and cherries making sure to leave out enough cherries to place on top of each orange slice. Add the ice, stir, add the raspberry sherbet in scoops. Stir. Place the oranges on top and put a cherry in the middle of each orange slice. Delicious! Still somewhat of a sweet punch, but the taste was fabulous. Got many, many compliments and people were asking how I made it. This recipe is definitely a keeper that I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I made this punch for a friend's wedding and it was a hit. I did make a frozen ice ring for the bowl and layed pineapple rings and cherries in the ice ring. I got lots of nice comments. Can also add rum or tequila to an individual serving for some "kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This punch was excellent! I made it for a baby shower that I hosted over the weekend and it was a huge hit! I usually dont like punch and I liked this one. Cherries should be set on top of the orange slices. They dont float by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
My husband and I made this punch for some friends and it got rave reviews. I would definitely make it again. The only change - when tasting we thought it was too sweet, so we added another liter each of ginger ale and carbonated water. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaynBensMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, New York, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Made this for my one-year-olds party and all the adults LOVED it! My sister even requested it for her bridal shower. I did make some changes: I used 2 ltrs. Squirt instead of the ginger ale/carbonated water, I didn't use the cherries at all, and I used raspberry sherbet instead (we did an Elmo theme, so the red helped me out.) I also floated some of those Wilton candy decs (usually for cupcakes?) in the shape of Elmo on top and everyone thought that was sooooo cute/cool. Also, I kept waiting for the syrup to get "thick", until my science teacher husband said that the properties of the two ingredients wouldn't allow that to happen...the syrup was pretty thin and thickened a little as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This punch is GREAT!!! I made it for my best friend's bridal shower, and everyone loved it. People were grabbing the orange slices in the bottom of the bowl just for the flavor. I had to make a second bowl in the middle of the party. The sugar syrup was a little difficult to figure out correctly, but even with that snag, the punch turned out beautifully. I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
MMM, its very good, but one peice of advice: the cherries dont float, even the ones without pits. it is fine with me to scrape them off the bottom, but be careful, with the orange slices you might get a couple of seeds as well. very good recipe however. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I made this recipe for a bridal shower and everyone loved it! It has a great flavor and the sherbert adds a little extra sweetness. The bride-to-be liked it so much, that she is thinking about having it as her punch at the wedding. This is a wonderful punch recipe. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCJ131

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I made this for my daughter's first birthday party and everyone absolutely loved it. I was nervous that it would be too sweet given that you add 2 cups of sugar, but I followed the recipe exactly and was pleasantly surprised. I received several comments about how impressive it looked with the orange slices and cherries floating on top. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States