Floating Island (Oeufs a la Neige) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
After struggling with Martha Stewarts version of this recipe I found this recipe equal to her version in flavor and presentation, without the hassle of her version. My family loved it even our 8 year old grandson gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I've been looking for this recipe for years. It was a family tradition at Christmas. We called them "snowballs". Nice and light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
this is a recipe my husband said his grandmother use to make him....when i make the meringue i very gently spoon in large dollups on top of steeping milk, poach gently for 3-5 minutes, turning once to cook meringue, remove with slotted spoon and drain. I would not eat the raw egg version. Chill and traditionally drizzle with caramel. It is super easy and super impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I LOVE this recipe but also would not eat the raw egg version. I learned it with some different proportions and directions, including cooking the dollops of egg white for a few seconds in boiling water, turning once, and removing with a slotted spoon (similar to go away's directions). It's very easy and gives the islands slightly more structure (without making them crispy). My recipe also does not add any sugar to the egg whites, and even though I am a sugar fiend I still love it! Just make sure there's a little custard in every bite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We have edited this recipe to include a step to cook the meringue. You may omit this step and use pasteurized-in-the-shell eggs, if you prefer; pasteurized eggs take longer to whip into a meringue, but will work just fine in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I made this for a friend who had fond childhood memories of this dessert. She was very pleased and I have already made it again because I enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is very similar to a recipe my grandmother used to make in the 60's which was from the Better Homes and Garden cookbook called Susan's Snow Pudding. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I have been using powdered egg whites for my baked Alaska and floating islands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States