Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this a couple days ago and followed the recipe exactly, wouldn't change anything because I love it! I took some to my 81 year old mother and she too thought it was great! I plan on checking out more of MUZIC247 recipes! Really not over sweet either as some have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
It was a HIT everyone wants me to make it again!!I recently caterd an event using this recipe. However I did not add the celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is exactly what I was looking for from my remembering my mom's tomato and cucumber salad from 40 years ago! I didn't have the celery seed so I put in a little bit of dried dill. So bright and fresh with that hint of sweetness. I did cut the recipe down to 2 servings and still used 2 tomatoes and 1 whole small vidalia onion. Thanks you for this great recipe to use up those cukes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Too sweet for my family. Proportion of cucumber to tomato and onion was off. Too much cucumber, not enough onion and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Not bad but very sweet. My mom has made this salad for as long as I can remember. For a more tart version cut the sugar to a pinch and the balsamic altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryCrowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
8 cups is alot of cucumbers especially when you only have 1 onion and 1 tomato to add in. i used 2 large cucumbers and 1 giant tomato and onion. i cut the sugar quite a bit since a cup and a half seemed like alot to me. i didnt have the celery seed and i did add a shake of garlic salt and pepper after i had let it sit and i tried it. good recipe but i think the amounts might need to be adjusted. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is my new favorite summer cuke recipe! A nice change from the creamy mix. I used celery salt and some Mediterran salt. Also soaked the cukes in salt for about 20 mins. beforehand. Second time making it, I added yellow and red peppers.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very good! Love the dressing. Only suggestion is to definitely peel off some of the skin of the cucumber to cut down on bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I detest celery seed, so I omitted it. This is a lot but the longer it sat the tastier it got.....Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States