Fleischkuechle (Flesh-Keek-Luh) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
The recipe has nothing to do with german Fleischkuechle except the use of meat. Fleischkuechle are oval, abou 1 inch thick, have a weight of 2.2 or 4.5 ounces. They are never deep fried but fried in a pan. Besides in Germany we don't use flour for the dough but rolls, two or three days old, soaked in milk or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
The picture shown is not how fleishkuechle is traditionally made around here (I'm from ND as well). The recipe fails to include the fact that the balls of meat should be pressed flat (think oval-shaped hamburger patties) before the dough is wrapped around them. For the health-conscious, even though it's not "traditional," the fleishkuechle may also be baked. Around here we would NEVER detract from the flavor by adding cheese, but we do love to dip them in ketchup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I am from ND too. This is served at many restaurants in ND. Sometimes the dough is made with 1/2 and 1/2 with the milk. Growing up I had these at the local dairy queens/restaurants on my lunch break almost daily! They are made with chopped onion and water in the blender, then add that to seasoned hamburger for a spreadable meat. Then take a dough ball about the size of a lemon and roll out to a circle just slightly smaller that the size of a plate. Spread meat mixture on 1/2 of the dough, fold over and seal by pinching or with a fork. Prick twice with a fork to let steam escape while deep frying. They are flat, and about the size of 1/2 of a plate, but can be made smaller. If made correctly there is a little grease that makes the inside dough slightly oily. That adds flavor. They freeze very well! No cheese!! ONLY KETCHUP!!! :) We pronounce it fly(sh)-keek-la.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
i live in germany. fleischküchle (buletten, fleischpflanzerl) aren't made with that much flour. in germany we use old buns or white bread soaked a few minutes in milk for that. that gives it a softer texture. if the meat mixture is to wet, we add breadcrumbs. also mustard is a must for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was actually trying to figure out how to spell this dish, as I made it with a friend this weekend, and stumbled upon the exact recipe we used. I just want to say that it's the most addictive thing I've ever had, this being the third time we've made it. She always makes a macaroni salad with lots of pickles to go with it, and I think it's a nice way to balance the hearty juiciness of the Fleischkuechle. I know she also got this recipe handed down to her from her German family, so anyone who says it's not "real" because it doesn't use moldy old bread or whatever needs to let me know so I can be sure to call them a waaaambulance. It's THE most delicious thing I've ever had, no matter what you call it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I as well grew up eating these but I think my mom used day old bread or bread crumbs as well as the diced onions. She shaped them like patties. I thought they were strange as a kid but now make them from time to time. Also the pronounciation here is incorrect should be more like (PHLISCH-KESH-EL-LE)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
My whole family loves this. I also added cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is awesome! My family makes these as a special treat. I can't believe someone submitted the recipe. We don't add egg to our dough or onions to the meat, but the rest is the same. My mom loads it up with garlic and we love them! My daughters help make them and make small ravioli size ones for bite size portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! My husband wants me to triple the recipe so he can take it to the company picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housewife35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
i like this recipe but i did not think it had enought meat so i doubled the meat, we still did not think there was enough meat in it so next time i will put even more in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States