Flea Terminator Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My dog loved this! I made it in heart shapes for her..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I just want to say, that those flea drops from the vet caused respritory problems for my dog! Do your own research on the toxic ingredients that they claim are safe for our babies! We ceased using these products and you should to. On a positive note.... I have made these treats over 10 times now, and my yorkie Simon LOVES THEM! We took a batch to my aunt for her dogs,and she called for the recipe when they were all gone, she said her dogs LOVED them! So easy to make and I want to say thank you for your recipe.......THANK YOU! It's the only treat my doggie eats!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were EXCELLENT! My little guy loves 'em! A few small changes, I used a little less garlic (garlic can be toxic to dogs, so be VERY careful in how much you give them) and I used nutritional yeast, as brewers yeast can cause harmful bloat in bigger, deep chested dogs. Nutritional yeast is said to work every bit as good as the brewers yeast for repelling fleas, but much safer on the canine system, with more vitamins. I also put in some parsley to combat garlic breath. Excellent recipe, my husky thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was a great recipe! Not only does it repel fleas, but it also clears your sinuses when you're making it...LOL! My beagles LOVE these treats. They don't care if they have fleas or not...they want those treats and they want them NOW!...LOL! Much cheaper to make these than the treats you buy in the store. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
My dogs love these. So far, no fleas and we live in hot, sunny FL. I took the lazy way out. Spread the batter onto 2 cookie sheets. After 20 minutes, I removed them from the oven, scored them into bite size pieces then returned to the oven for overnight. The next morning, I just broke them where scored. I also used nutritional yeast and sodium free bouillon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Have been giving my dogs a garlic/parsley mix for 2 months and no fleas or ticks. Can't wait to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Just for the record, garlic POWDER is much less toxic to dogs than the real thing, and even cloves of garlic don't bother them much as long as they're cooked. Yes, raw garlic and raw onions cause hemolytic anemia in dogs, but I've never heard of garlic POWDER doing any damage at all--and I've been feeding a raw diet to my dogs for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVAPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My dog LOVES these treats and won't eat store bought treats anymore. I don't take the time to cut them into shapes. I just roll them out thin and cut them in squares with a knife. When I cook them, I make sure I get them completly dried out because they will eventually mold if moisture is left in them. After the initial cooking and standing time, I turn the oven back on then off to "dehydrate" them in a warm oven. With all the moisture gone, they will last until the last one is eaten. I have made them several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My seven basset hounds think these treats are candy...Easy to make and good for the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
My dogs love these and it's a great way to give them the garlic they need to resist fleas! Easy to make. Only drawback (if it is one) is that they make your house smell heavily of garlic when you bake them. I wouldn't do it when you're expecting guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States