Flea Terminator Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My dog LOVES these treats and won't eat store bought treats anymore. I don't take the time to cut them into shapes. I just roll them out thin and cut them in squares with a knife. When I cook them, I make sure I get them completly dried out because they will eventually mold if moisture is left in them. After the initial cooking and standing time, I turn the oven back on then off to "dehydrate" them in a warm oven. With all the moisture gone, they will last until the last one is eaten. I have made them several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My seven basset hounds think these treats are candy...Easy to make and good for the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
My dogs love these and it's a great way to give them the garlic they need to resist fleas! Easy to make. Only drawback (if it is one) is that they make your house smell heavily of garlic when you bake them. I wouldn't do it when you're expecting guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My dog loved this! I made it in heart shapes for her..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
It's a good recipe but definetly limit how many you give your beloved pooch. Garlic and onions can cause anemia in dogs and the smaller the dog, the less it takes. I might also suggest you use low sodium beef boullion, especially with puppies and older dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were EXCELLENT! My little guy loves 'em! A few small changes, I used a little less garlic (garlic can be toxic to dogs, so be VERY careful in how much you give them) and I used nutritional yeast, as brewers yeast can cause harmful bloat in bigger, deep chested dogs. Nutritional yeast is said to work every bit as good as the brewers yeast for repelling fleas, but much safer on the canine system, with more vitamins. I also put in some parsley to combat garlic breath. Excellent recipe, my husky thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was a great recipe! Not only does it repel fleas, but it also clears your sinuses when you're making it...LOL! My beagles LOVE these treats. They don't care if they have fleas or not...they want those treats and they want them NOW!...LOL! Much cheaper to make these than the treats you buy in the store. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Just for the record, garlic POWDER is much less toxic to dogs than the real thing, and even cloves of garlic don't bother them much as long as they're cooked. Yes, raw garlic and raw onions cause hemolytic anemia in dogs, but I've never heard of garlic POWDER doing any damage at all--and I've been feeding a raw diet to my dogs for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVAPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe then added 5 capsules of fish oil. It's very good for the coat and skin, and it adds a bit of a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
It took a while for me to find the brewer's yeast. I finally found it and made these for my 3 dogs. As soon as they were crisp enough I gave each of them a treat, and they ate them up immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States