Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was A wonderful bread. I used Spelt Flour instead of whole wheat. Also make sure you grind the Flax Seeds in a coffee grinder to ensure you get the full nutritional benefit of the flax seeds. Otherwise your body just passes the seeds w/out getting much from them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Delicious!! Mine needed to bake longer, but that is probably just due to my inexperience with bread maker. And I had roasted salted sunflower seeds on hand so that's what I used. I was worried it would be too salty but it really wasn't at all! Very yummy and will make again - soon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I've made a lot of bread & this recipe is awesome. It's delicious! I used ground flax as others suggested. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it the old fashion way with a little elbow grease. Proofed the yeast in the honey/water for about 10 minutes, then added all the ingredients in no specific order in my Kitchen Aid mixer with a dough hook & let it do the work for about 10-15 minutes. Turned it out onto a floured surface & kneeded it a few more times. Made it into a ball & put it in an oiled bowl. Let it double (about 1.5 hrs), punched it down & made 2 loaves. 2nd rise took about an hour. Then baked them at 375 for about 30 minutes. To tell if it's done, tap the top & bottom & see if it sounds hollow. If you want to be extra sure, stick a digital thermometer in it & make sure it reads 190-200. I may have replaced my favorite store bought bread! If you like any of the store brands that are "grainy" (12 grain, 15 grain, etc.) then you will LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious. Heavy consistency as I had hoped, but still great for sandwiches. I made one loaf and 8 rolls that I will use for sandwiches (used the dough setting on the machine, then baked in the oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Used bread machine with all white flour since I didn't have whole wheat. Also used sesame seeds instead of sunflower. Added some toasted barley nuts as well....really good!!! Will try with whole wheat next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This bread was delicious and super easy...it could have used a little more salt but was still great dipped in some homemade soup! Thanks for a simple yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This turned out beautifully! I used ground flax seed and raw sunflower seeds that I pan roasted. It is a nice hearty bread that is perfect for toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmamalolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was delicious. I used less fat vegetable cream cheese. Next time I might cut back on the amount of water. The sauce was alittle runny, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States