Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Love this Bread! Since I didn't have any whole wheat bread flour, I used the regular bread flour and white whole wheat flour I had, and added 2 TBSP of vital wheat gluten. It rose beautifully and came out great. Thanks for the recipe, Erna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Kusel, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I've made this bread twice now and it keeps coming out flat. I don't blame the recipe though, because I've been using ground flax and I think that it's binding everything together too much (intact flax seeds don't have the same "binding/egg-like" properties as ground flax). It tastes really good though. I just wanted to warn people not to sub in ground flax because I think it's preventing my bread from rising properly :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Mmmmm. Thank you. It also keeps pretty well. I used the white whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justducky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Scrumptious, hearty, healthy bread! This is a great recipe. One thing I did was substitute whole wheat bread flour with rolled oats. I did so because I was out of whole wheat bread flour, but I must say that it was an excellent substitution and gave even more texture and taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I used pumpkin seeds in place of sunflower seeds (because it was what I had on hand), and vegetable oil in place of butter. Made without a bread machine by proofing the yeast in warm water, mixing on high speed for ~3 minutes with a Kitchen-Aid paddle to develop the gluten, and then kneading with the dough hook for ~8 minutes on low speed. Made a tender, flavorful, hearty loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Great recipe. I did add 1tsp gluten and ground my flax seed. I also substituted canola oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Easiest bread ever. Usually substitute any seeds with what I have in the house (quinoa, millet, sesame, flax, sunflower) You can even mix and match. I usually use warm water since it makes the bread fluffier. I also use multigrain and whole wheat flour and works great in my bread maker. Usually put it on dough, I then rise it for 30 minutes in the shape you like (braided or in a pan). After it has risen, bake 30 minutes at 350. Voila. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
An outstanding bread machine bread recipe that I bake in the oven. Assemble ingredients in bread machine, process on 'dough' setting, then place in oiled bread pan, let rise about 20 minutes, and bake in preheated 350o oven for 30 minutes. Big hit at a party - the sunflower seeds make it more of a snack bread than a sandwich bread, but it slices well for both uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I added 1/4 cup of dry instant milk which a lot of bread machine cookbooks add. I put the flax seeds in the coffee grinder and cracked them a little. It is recommended to get the nutrients released. I changed from 1 teaspoon of active yeast to 1 1/2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast. Other cookbooks say to be sure the sunflower seeds are UNSALTED. It was perfect. Thanks for the recipe and other reviewers' comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is so good! I use all whole wheat flour and it comes out great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States