Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I modified another bread machine recipe to something almost exactly like this recipe (even before I found this one). I like making the dough in the machine and baking the bread in the oven. For the most recent loaf, I subbed molasses for the honey for a richer flavor. I also cut the dough into 3 pieces, rolled out into "snakes," and braided them together. Takes a little longer to bake (closer to 50-60 minutes) but very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This bread is so good. I increased the water to 1 1/2C. and added 1/2 c. chopped sliced almonds, 2T. sesame seeds. 2T. Poppy seeds and 2T. Steel cut oats and 3 T. old fashioned oats. I inceassed the yeast to 2 1/2 t. Better then all the store bought multigrain breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda MacKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
this is my all time favorite bread. I did't have sunflower seeds so I used ground up almonds once and used chopped pecans the next time. I also used flax oil instead of butter. Make sure you grind up whole flax seeds. i used my electric coffee grinder. I rate this as a 10 plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Excellent great rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written. Neither my husband nor I enjoyed it at all. I really do not have anything good to say about it. It tasted super healthy, bland, almost a little bit tart with the flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This bread was hearty yet not dense. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is the best bread recipe, even better than the ones that come with our machine. My hubby said it was his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent, I used 9g fresh yeast and did it by hand, not in the breadmaker. I let it rise until doubled, then punched it down and put it in a greased loaf pan, let it rise again and baked for 35min at 375F, it turned out fantastic, excellent texture and taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a super good recipe. I've made it twice and it has been gobbled up quickly. I made it just as the directions state and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This bread is FANTASTIC! I just bought my Zojirushi and this was the second bread I've ever made. I did it from start to finish in the machine and it turned out great. I was debating the whole time whether I wanted to finish it in the oven, but now I'm glad I didn't because I honestly don't think it needed it. The texture wasn't like typical bread machine breads. This bread had an awesome thin, flaky crust, and the texture of the bread itself was really light. The sunflower seeds add a delicious, nutty flavor to the whole thing. A few minor substitutions, instead of the flaxseeds I used 1/4 cup flax meal for nutrients, although I did toss a tbs or two of whole flaxseeds because I like the crunch. I also added 1/4 cup King Arthur fiber, and some KA whole grain improver. I ran out of bread flour so I had to use all purpose, it still tasted great though. I added a little bit of KA 6 grain flakes for added flavor and texture. As per so many recommendations here, I used canola oil instead of butter. This really turned out great and I would highly recommend. I even gave this to my (honest) chef father who doesn't typically like wheat or "healthy" type breads, and he even loved it. We buy multigrain bread at the grocery store to have as toast for breakfast every day, but this has totally replaced that. I'm so happy to have such a great recipe and know exactly what is going in my bread, definitely no preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States