Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent, I used 9g fresh yeast and did it by hand, not in the breadmaker. I let it rise until doubled, then punched it down and put it in a greased loaf pan, let it rise again and baked for 35min at 375F, it turned out fantastic, excellent texture and taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a super good recipe. I've made it twice and it has been gobbled up quickly. I made it just as the directions state and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This bread is FANTASTIC! I just bought my Zojirushi and this was the second bread I've ever made. I did it from start to finish in the machine and it turned out great. I was debating the whole time whether I wanted to finish it in the oven, but now I'm glad I didn't because I honestly don't think it needed it. The texture wasn't like typical bread machine breads. This bread had an awesome thin, flaky crust, and the texture of the bread itself was really light. The sunflower seeds add a delicious, nutty flavor to the whole thing. A few minor substitutions, instead of the flaxseeds I used 1/4 cup flax meal for nutrients, although I did toss a tbs or two of whole flaxseeds because I like the crunch. I also added 1/4 cup King Arthur fiber, and some KA whole grain improver. I ran out of bread flour so I had to use all purpose, it still tasted great though. I added a little bit of KA 6 grain flakes for added flavor and texture. As per so many recommendations here, I used canola oil instead of butter. This really turned out great and I would highly recommend. I even gave this to my (honest) chef father who doesn't typically like wheat or "healthy" type breads, and he even loved it. We buy multigrain bread at the grocery store to have as toast for breakfast every day, but this has totally replaced that. I'm so happy to have such a great recipe and know exactly what is going in my bread, definitely no preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This bread was ok. I made mistake of adding sunflower seeds at wrong time and instead of them mixing in they just stayed on top. Which may have caused bread to sink in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
So so yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Our most used bread maker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncodonnell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I was searching for a home-made (more budget-friendly) version of "Dave's Bread," which costs $5 a loaf in the natural foods department at the local grocery. This recipe comes pretty darn close to hitting the mark on the first try! (Thank you to creator Erna Walmsley & the folks who have commented.) I do not have a bread machine, but used my kitchen-aid stand mixer and my oven. I followed the comments by other All-Recipe members also: 1) dissolve 6T honey in 2c water, pour 1/2 into your mixer bowl & then sprinkle the yeast on water...wait for proof before adding the remaining water 2) mixed flours, & salt (& #3 additions) in separate bowl and then added by cup-full to running mixer 3) *I added 1/2 c rough-chopped oats, 1/4 c fine-ground almonds, 1/4 c wheat germ 4) mix thoroughly, add the butter/oil blend (abt 1/4 c) 5) added = amounts of the following seeds: flax seed, sunflower seed, & toasted sesame seed... save some to sprinkle on outside of loaf 6) knead in mixer, then remove to oiled bowl to rise for an hour. 7) Punch down, cut in 1/2, re-shape & pat remaining seed mixture (added a little wheat-germ to outside seed mix) then placed shaped loaf into greased & floured baking vessel. 8) allow to rise another 1/2 hr, score top with a knife, and brush top with melted butter 9) bake @ 400 for about 25 min 10) remove & allow temp to drop before removing from pan to a cooling rack --or to a cutting board because this is the best time to taste-test! Enjoy! ~K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Love this Bread! Since I didn't have any whole wheat bread flour, I used the regular bread flour and white whole wheat flour I had, and added 2 TBSP of vital wheat gluten. It rose beautifully and came out great. Thanks for the recipe, Erna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Kusel, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I've made this bread twice now and it keeps coming out flat. I don't blame the recipe though, because I've been using ground flax and I think that it's binding everything together too much (intact flax seeds don't have the same "binding/egg-like" properties as ground flax). It tastes really good though. I just wanted to warn people not to sub in ground flax because I think it's preventing my bread from rising properly :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Mmmmm. Thank you. It also keeps pretty well. I used the white whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justducky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States