Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This is a nice recipe! I don't have a bread maker so I did it this way for 2 loaves. 2 cups of warm water with 6 tbsp of honey dissolved in it. then sprinkle 2 1/4 tsp of yeast and let proof for 10 minutes. Then add 1/4 cup of oil and 1 1/2 tsp salt. Then all your flour (I used about 5 cups, half whole wheat and half white) and seeds. I also added hemp hearts which are high in omega 6 and omega 3 fats. Then I let rise in a oiled bowl for 1 hour, punch down and divide into 2 loaves then let rise again for 45 min. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes. SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
578 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I have made this bread three times, once using butter as directed and twice substituting canola oil. It has come out perfect every time! I especially enjoy toasting the slices, as it really brings out the flavor in the seeds. I live alone and can't eat all the bread before it gets stale, so I slice up the loaf and freeze it in a big Ziploc bag, then heat the slices in my toaster oven as needed. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I LIKE TO MAKE BREAD WITH MY KITCHEN AID MIXER AND THIS SOUNDED YUMMY SO HERE IS WHAT I DID: DISSOLE HONEY IN THE WATER(WARM) AND THEN PUT THE YEAST IN THE WATER MIXTURE TO ACTIVATE. PUT ALL THE OTHER INCREDIENTS IN THE MIXER(WITH A DOUGH HOOK ON IT) EXCEPT THE SUNFLOWER SEEDS AND BUTTER(WELL I USED OIL INSTEAD) THEN ON LOW GRADUALLY ADD THE OIL AND YEAST MIXTURE. MIX FOR ABOUT 7 MINUTES, MAY HAVE TO SCRAP SIDES. THEN ADD THE SUNFLOWER SEEDS AND LET THEM MIX IN. I THEN ADDED A EXTRA 1/3 CUP OF WHEAT FLOUR BECAUSE IT WAS TOO STICKY. THEN I FORMED DOUGH INTO A LOAF AND PUT IT IN A GREASED LOAF PAN COVERED WITH PLASTIC WRAP TO RISE UNTIL DOUBLED IN SIZE. BAKE AT 350 FOR 40 MINUTES. TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I don't own a bread machine and it was still an excellent bread! To make this bread the conventional way: Proof yeast in the warm water with honey (I heated the honey in the microwave for 30 seconds) Combined all the dry ingredients including flour, flax and sunflower seeds in a large bowl. Melted the butter an added that to the flour alongside the yeast. Combined and then kneaded the bread for 10 minutes or until the dough was smooth and my arms were about to fall off. Set to rise in greased bowl for 1.5 hours or until doubled in size. Punched it. Transferred dough to a greased bread pan, covered and let rise again for 20 minutes. Baked in a 350 oven for about 30 minutes. Removed from pan and if the bottom wasn't golden I flipped the bread and put it back in the oven until golden. Removed, let cool on wire rack and now I'm enjoying it as we speak. So far best whole wheat bread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmarieann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Love this bread! I use flax meal because the seed is so biounavailable to the body. It took nothing away from this recipe. I make it again and again as a sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I don't typically buy or like whole wheat breads, but the flax and sunflower intrigued me, as I like both. This turned out really well. In previous reviews, I've said that I don't like the way bread machine bread turns out, so I baked this in my oven. I set my bread machine on the dough cycle, followed the recipe and then put the dough in a greased stoneware loaf pan and let rise for about an hour. Then I baked at 350 for 10 minutes, rotated the pan 180 degrees, and baked for another 10 minutes. It came out perfectly. I wouldn't recommend doing what I did on the first loaf - I sprinkled flax seed on the top, because I thought it would be pretty. Unfortunately, they just don't stick. I'll just throw a handful into the mix next time. And, if you're unfamiliar with flax, you should know that it really should be ground up well. Your body cannot digest whole flax seed and you will not get the benefit of the flax unless you chew it up completely. It's much easier, and beneficial to grind it in a coffee grinder. Thanks for a hearty, dense winter bread recipe Erna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Delicious! I will make this again soon to give away - I don't want to share this first batch! I made this bread in the traditional manner, without the bread machine: 1. proof yeast in 1/2 cup water 2. add yeast, additional water, honey, and butter to the mix of flour, salt, and seeds 3. knead by hand or in a sturdy mixer 4. let rise one-hour, punch down and let rise 30 minutes 5. shape into two loaves and let rest 20 minutes 6. bake at 400 degrees about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This one is a good seed bread and it has exactly the chewy texture I like in a bread. I really don't think honey is overpowering in this recipe, but my sister thought it lacked a bit of salt, and I think she's right; next time, I'll increase salt to 1,5 teaspoon. Other than that, this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Lutsky
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
OH MY Goodness, you can't go wrong with this one! makes great sandwiches and morning toast, I would make this again and again, I highly recommend you try this, I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, and then kneaded , shaped into a loaf, and let it rise,about 1/2 hour , then baked it in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes,,,,, AHHHH....the aroma!!! yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Lutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I made this bread today and it is delicious. I often make flax seed bread, but the sunflowers in this made it really nutty tasting. I also doubled the recipe, and made it by hand instead of the bread machine. I used mostly whole wheat flour, added a bit more yeast and a couple tablespoons of my homemade dough enchancer. My husband love it. This is a keeper. Lorraine Sturgis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States